Yoke

22 Jun

For as long as I’ve been sewing I only ever seemed to make dresses and the occasional skirt, the reason behind this escapes me as I swear, 80% of the time, I’m to be found in comfy tops and trousers. As part of committing to sewing more and also wearing more of what I sew I decided to start with Simplicity 2594 (View A).


It’s also the first time I’ve sewn anything with a yoke, so I wasn’t sure how it would go but it turns out it was all good. View A has a bias cut front and back with the yoke cut on the grain. After checking out PatternReview.com, it seemed that this one has a lot of ease built in so cut it in a size 20, and went without a full bust adjustment. Does it look like the pattern envelope?

Pretty close. I chose a very light weight cotton I picked up cheaply as I wanted to try this more as a wearable muslin but it’s thin enough that it drapes ok, even with my ample bosom. The instructions were pretty straight forward, but with a heads up that step 17 is incorrect I just went with my gut and it came together quick and easy – even the yoke and back gathers.

This is definitely going to be one of my staples, I even picked up some lovely dotted cotton in both white and turquoise this afternoon but I was having a daft moment and left it at the supermarket checkout on the way back to the car. Fingers crossed I can collect it tomorrow!

Total Costs:

Pattern $7.50 (On sale)

Fabric $9.20 (2.3m @ $4/m – Centrepoint Fabrics)

Thread $4.50

TOTAL: NZ$21.50 / US$14.80

8 Responses to “Yoke”

  1. HLT June 27, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Nice blouse. How did you hem it?

    • thislightgetsin June 28, 2010 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks so much! Admittedly, I hate hemming so this was just the simplest hem – fold under, then fold under again and stitch.

  2. Jessica @ LinensAndPurple May 20, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    I have this pattern but I am leery of most all my patterns because they are always shown with stick-thin-maybe-B-cup-sized models, and I am, well, not that. So glad to see it looks great on a real woman! Will have to sew one of my own… thanks so much for sharing your fashions! I just found you today, and subscribed via email! :) Also shared this post on Pinterest.

    • lazystitcher May 21, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jessica!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TGIF: Pattern Knock-out « Lazy Stitching - October 8, 2010

    [...] the other corner is a duo of tried and true shapes for me – Simplicity 2594 (Sewn here) and BurdaStyle Jenny (sewn here, there, and everywhere). The pros on this one are that I know [...]

  2. Quick Fix Blouse: Simplicity 2594 « Lazy Stitching - October 25, 2010

    [...] but October has been so very un-productive. I needed a stitching fix fast so I returned to the first project I posted here – Simplicity [...]

  3. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: Yoke Blouse; Christmas Dress; Cowboy Blouse; Bastille [...]

  4. MMM Days Five, Six, Seven & Eight « Lazy Stitching - March 9, 2011

    [...] Quick run to the airport in Simplicity 2594. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

