Rust Jacket: Simplicity 2372

3 Jul

So I finally worked up the motivation to finish the jacket to match the rust skirt. Weekend task 1 complete. Honestly it doesn’t flatter me much and I’m starting to think there is a reason no one else has reviewed Simplicity 2372 on PR.

It was a pretty simple pattern to make, the only thing that slowed me down was figuring out how I would line it as the pattern only provides for facings. In the end I added full lining just using the original pieces then laid the facings on top and top-stitched before joining to the fabric.

It has nice little pleats in the raglan sleeves and a box pleat in the centre back. (It’s not actually crooked, I just can’t stand straight, apparently).

I thought maybe the matchy-matchy with the skirt wasn’t helping things, and it’s a little better dressed down with my grey jeans.

But I think it still reminds me of this:

Oh well, live and learn.

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: $7.5

Fabric: $14.0 (2m @ $7/m – Centrepoint Fabrics)

Lining: $9.0 (2m @ $4.5/m – Centrepoint Fabrics)

Button: $1.20

Thread: $4.50

TOTAL: NZ$36.20 / US$24.90

4 Responses to “Rust Jacket: Simplicity 2372”

  1. SewSister July 3, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    I like your jacket, especially with jeans! I wasn’t fond of the boots with the skirt, I thought it cut your legs off and they appeared too heavy.

    Or perhaps the boots remind me of Canadian winters and we’ve just started summer?

    I think you did a great job!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bastille Blouse: Simplicity 2372 « - July 15, 2010

    […] pretty little red-and-blue print blouse. This was a last chance go at Simplicity 2372. I made the jacket a couple of weeks back and was a bit disappointed with the finished product. I was all set to throw […]

  2. SSS Days Three + Four « Lazy Stitching - September 6, 2010

    […] Friday (Day 3), I decided to take pity on the rust jacket and give it one last try, first by belting it as above. But I had to sit and type all day at the […]

  3. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: 10 Minute Skirt; Quick Fix Blouse; Reversible LBD; Rust Jacket; Rust Skirt; Shift […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

