Shift Dress: New Look 6643

6 Jul

So I ended up buying 16 patterns off the Vogue/McCalls/Butterick website on Sunday. 16? 16! I justified it by the fact that a Vogue pattern will cost me aprox NZ$27 here but I got them for US$3.99. So that’s like 75% off. It certainly helped sort the Self-Stitched-September planning too. I’ll post the goodies & plan shortly.

In the meantime, here’s what I wore to the office today. This is View A of New Look 6643 and I call it my fall back dress. I made it last year before I had attempted any fitting or altering of patterns and whilst I look at it now and think of the adjustments I might make (I mean there’s not even any bust adjustment), it’s always so comfortable.

The thing is, I always forget I have this one. I’m not sure why that is, but I run through in my head what I’m going to wear for the day (usually whilst procrastinating on getting out of my warm, warm bed) and this one never occurs to me. Then I see it, throw it on and it never fails to make me feel good.

It’s the simplest pattern – two princess darts at the front and back, neck facing and bias bound arm-holes, a centre back zip and vent. It’s made out of that super soft and silky feeling satin (sorry I’m no good with knowing my fabrics) and a beautiful rich print. It doesn’t show in the photos, which were taken in artificial light at 6am (eek), but it also has flecks of turquoise in it.

I had a similar pattern 12 years ago in high-school that I sewed in everything from satin to Hawaiian print to white linen. It’s nice to see some things are always classic.

Does it look like the envelope?

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: $10.0

Fabric: $27.99 (1.4m @ 19.99/m – Centrepoint Fabrics)

Notions: $15.0 (Aprox)

TOTAL: NZ$52.99 / US$36.70

9 Responses to “Shift Dress: New Look 6643”

  1. Angela July 7, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Great dress!!

  2. chie July 7, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    very nice! it looks chic and versatile!

  3. Sherry July 31, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    This is one of my favourite things you’ve made – and yes, it does look like the envelope!

    • lazystitcher July 31, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks so much!

  4. Giselle March 4, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    That’s beautiful! It suits you very well.
    I’m feeling inspired now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New! New! New Look Patterns! « Lazy Stitching - September 13, 2010

    [...] E of this pattern looks like my favourite shift dress but with elbow length [...]

  2. SSS: Days Nineteen + Twenty « Lazy Stitching - September 20, 2010

    [...] always seem to forget I have this dress, but it came to the rescue today. Something I haven’t worn yet for Self-Stitched-September, [...]

  3. Bonus Party Dress: New Look 6643 « Lazy Stitching - December 13, 2010

    [...] grabbed an old fave, New Look 6643 (last seen here). Cutting view C, I made a quick and dirty FBA and free handed a scoop neck front and back (in red [...]

  4. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Fifth Row: 10 Minute Skirt; Quick Fix Blouse; Reversible LBD; Rust Jacket; Rust Skirt; Shift Dress [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

