Twofer: New Look 6190 & Simplicity 2593

22 Jul

Here are two super quick patterns to throw together.

The pants are my second go at New Look 6190. Unlike the khakis, this fabric had a little stretch to it so I only added 1/2 an inch to the all the vertical seam allowances versus an inch on the woven fabric. I didn’t intend to have the elasticity – it was just the by product of fabric shopping in a rush and hoping for the best.

Initially I sewed the pants on my machine with a straight stitch. When I bent down to pin my hem (the joys of fitting and pinning by ones-self) I promptly split the seam on the butt, so I sucked it up and attempted threading my serger with new thread for the first time since I bought it. This step took longer than the entire project from cutting to hem… and I still don’t have it right. But it was enough to make these pants safe for work.

I also added 1 & 1/2 inches to the crotch depth. On the Khaki’s this bought the waist to just below my belly-button. With this fabric it sits just above, don’t ask me why. Still I love the high waist, so no complaints there. These were super comfortable to wear so I know they are going to get a lot of use.

The top is a Cynthia Rowley pattern, Simplicity 2593. The design is pretty simple just a one piece back, one piece front with easing at centre front. The arms holes and neck are bound with fabric bias binding. The design element is the neck band inView A, with is a long twisted tube hand stitched to the neck edge.

I threw this together with some gingham I had hanging around for making muslins. It was definitely wearable but I’m not sold on the design on me. Again, I already know I shouldn’t buy patterns without darts or other shaping but I get sucked in with the idea of simple un-complicated designs. Unfotunately this means it’s a little boxy on me.

I made a Size 20, which gave me 3 and a half inches of ease at the bust, and I lengthened the pattern by 1 and a half inches. I also had a couple of issues with the instructions. When it comes to the arm holes, it asks you to trim off 5/8 inch once the shoulder and side seams are sewn. I couldn’t, for the life of me figure out why it asked you to do that – so I didn’t, which probably doesn’t help the boxy. Also, I found the lack of detail on how to attach the neck band, super frustrating, particularly at 11 o’clock last night when I was stubbornly  hand stitching it on. I know some people on pattern review have made some lovely versions, but I don’t know if this is a keeper for me.

Here’s how I wore these to work:

TOTAL COST (TOP)

Fabric: $8.0 (2m @ $4/m – Spotlight)

Pattern: $7.50

TOTAL: NZ$15.5 / US$11.13

TOTAL COST (PANTS)

Fabric: $24 (2.4m @ $10/m – Spotlight)

Pattern & Thread: $0 (From stash)

Zip: $4.0

TOTAL: NZ$28 / US$20.11

12 Responses to “Twofer: New Look 6190 & Simplicity 2593”

  1. Sewsister July 22, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    You look fantastic, I love this outfit! The pants fit great and the top is very versatile (day or night), I can imagine it in a satin for special occasions.

    • thislightgetsin July 23, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

      Thanks! You’re right I imagine the satin would drape a fair bit and would change the whole look.

  2. Brumby July 23, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    I love the pants, wide legs are so comfortable!

    But yes I do agree with you on the top, I think when we have curves, we are better with structured shapes when using opaque fabrics, its just more flattering, leave the flopsy styles to those girls who look like they need a roast dinner or two. Or save them for sheer fabrics.

    If it were me I would persevere though; add in a side zip hip to armpit (or as high as needed) and add in vertical darts (bust to hip) front and back. The fabric is gorgeous, and would no doubt get a lot of wear during summer! Plus you could not let hand sewing go to waste!

    • thislightgetsin July 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      You know what… I may just give it a go, I’m pretty sure I have a navy zip hanging around as I didn’t put it in the double knit dress I made a couple of weeks back. Thanks, Brumby! If it works I’ll let you know.

  3. Angela July 23, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Cute outfit! I love it!

  4. Carolyn July 23, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    I love your gingham top! Looks so summery and pretty.
    Thanks for your comment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS Days Three + Four « Lazy Stitching - September 6, 2010

    [...] The top, I wasn’t sure about when I made it but it’s become one of my weekend staples, more due to the lovely dark gingham fabric than the style. [...]

  2. SSS: Days Five + Six « Lazy Stitching - September 9, 2010

    [...] so I hacked out a scoop neck and slit the sleeves for good measure too. Paired with a repeat of my New Look 6190 trousers which believe me you will be so bored of by the end of the week let alone the month, [...]

  3. SSS: Days Seven + Eight + Nine « Lazy Stitching - September 10, 2010

    [...] trip and as I do a fair bit of travel, I like to pack light. So I took my navy double-knit dress, my black wide leg pants (of course), gingham top, and my just finished Simplicity 2614. These, along with a black cardi from glassons, and my Teal [...]

  4. New! New! New Look Patterns! « Lazy Stitching - September 13, 2010

    [...] pattern seem to have escaped from suburban 1995 but the pants could work as an alternative to the super wide-legged ones I’m wearing to [...]

  5. SSS: Days Fifteen + Sixteen + Seventeen + Eighteen « Lazy Stitching - September 18, 2010

    [...] Day 16: Finally found a top that works under this white sweater I’ve had for years but hardly worn. Yay, for gingham. [...]

  6. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: Suedette Skirt; Turquoise Danielle Dress; Black Pants + Cynthia Rowley Top; Jenny Skirt; Tie-neck [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

