Betty Dress: Vogue 8631

5 Aug

I don’t know why, but this dress feels like a ‘Betty’ to me. It’s Very Easy Vogue 8631 and it was an absolute dream to sew. Maybe it’s because I’ve been sewing with a few tricky fabrics lately and this was plain old polka-dotty cotton, but it went together easily, all the instructions made sense, all the bits fit together well, and the only thing I found odd is that it relies on just a hook and eye to keep the front closed.

It’s a pretty simple design with maximum pay off. The bodice has kimono sleeves and two pleats, the skirt has 3 pleats. The back has two skirt darts, two back darts and two tiny neckline darts to keep it fitted. The centre back skirt seam is curved slightly so I couldn’t match the pattern as well as the centre back bodice seam.

And here’s the detail on the gorgeous pleating.

Bust

Waistline

I’ll definitely be sewing this one again. Originally I purchased the pattern (as part of the box-o-patterns) to make up something like this dress from Tory Burch. Maybe even using sari fabric?

Tory Burch Resort 2011 via style.com

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: US$3.99

Fabric: $14.5 (2.9m @ $5/m – Spotlight)

Thread: $3.0

TOTAL: NZ$25.50 / US$$17.70

17 Responses to “Betty Dress: Vogue 8631”

  1. quarterlifegirl August 5, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I love how that fits you, it’s really flattering! (and looks much better than the model on the Vogue page looks, in my opinion.)

    Hm, I’m wondering if I should get it on my next shopping trip, but I think I have way too many dress patterns as it is, lol.

    • lazystitcher August 5, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Thank you! I would definitely recommend this one. The great thing about it is that it’s really easy to put together but still looks interesting.
      I have the same issue with having too many patterns but then I always want to make more versions of each one I get round to sewing!

  2. lsaspacey August 5, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Wow, that is gorgeous on you! You should definitely make that again. that’s a hubba-hubba dress for sure. Though, if I were you I wouldn’t just rely on that hook & eye; I’m speaking from experience!

    • lazystitcher August 5, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Totally!I’m such a klutz it would probably happen while I was carrying loads of bags too ;-) Any ideas? I’m thinking of either an internal button (or external if I can find a cute one). Or maybe attach ties?

  3. toy August 5, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    nice dress, I love the vintage touch with the polka dot print

  4. narcissaqtpie August 6, 2010 at 2:17 am #

    Cute! I have been wondering about this pattern. Thanks for the review

  5. Angela August 17, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Oo… love this dress! I need to find some polka dot fabric!

    • Kat September 16, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      I love this pattern, so much, that I’ve decided to buy it next time bmv has a sale on! I also have that same fabric, we both have great taste. You did an excellent job.
      Kat

  6. Miriam December 14, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    I’ve made this dress 4 times now (and am contemplating more…) and it was your review that convinced me to try it in something other than stretch jersey and it worked a dream in cottons too. I attached ties to fasten the front as a hook and eye on their own were utter madness.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trench Progress (i) « Lazy Stitching - August 12, 2010

    [...] borrowed the pattern piece from the the ‘betty’ wrap dress so I’ll actually be able to fit my hand in rather than just a thumb or a couple of fingers [...]

  2. SSS: Days Twenty-two + Twenty-three « Lazy Stitching - September 23, 2010

    [...] commented before that my polka-dotted ‘Betty’ dress (Vogue 8631) makes me quite the happy-chappy. I am now extending that hypothesis to include [...]

  3. Whoa, Black Betty (Bam-a-lam): Vogue 8631 « Lazy Stitching - September 24, 2010

    [...] Betty Dress: Vogue 8631 [...]

  4. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: African Print Skirt; Amazing Fit Dress; Retro Ball Gown; Purple Gertie Dress; Betty Dress; Black [...]

  5. Dreaming of spring: Vogue 8631 « Green apples - February 7, 2011

    [...] envelope photo for this pattern isn’t exactly wonderful, but after seeing this version, I knew I had to make one.  This is a wrap dress, but it’s a slightly unusual one.  I like [...]

  6. MMM Days Five, Six, Seven & Eight « Lazy Stitching - March 9, 2011

    [...] Off to the Matakana Markets in Vogue 8631. [...]

  7. Colette Rooibos: The Wilma Dress « Lazy Stitching - September 18, 2011

    [...] Plus, remember my Betty Dress? [...]

  8. Vogue 8631: Pleated Wrap Dress | Right Side Wrong Side - January 16, 2012

    [...] gorgeous version.  She paired it with a matching belt, something that I will consider.  Also, Lazy Stitching made a beautiful version of this dress.  The dress looks great on her: its quite [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

