Muslin (mark II)

23 Aug

So, after playing with my first muslin this way and that I decided to try again and this time lengthen the hip (from about 1/3 of the way down from the waist) by 3 inches and move the darts closer to the centre. I took it in at the hip a bit and at the waist a lot and this seems to have solved the funny bagginess I was working in the first go.

Unfortunately, having run out of plain cotton I sacrificed this piece, which I bought a couple of years ago for a table cloth at thanksgiving. I couldn’t bear to just waste it though and so I’m calling this a wearable muslin.

I’m happy with the fit of the skirt but I’m going to try Sunni’s advice of cutting the waistband on the grain vs. the bias as it’s still gaping a bit after taking it in.

I’m going to make the “real” version with an invisible zip, back vent and lining following the tutorials at the Cupcake Goddess using this printed cotton twill from spotlight and hopefully it’ll be done before Self Stitched September begins – can’t believe there’s only a week to go!

10 Responses to “Muslin (mark II)”

  1. Brumby August 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Um, s#%t is it only a week away? I need to get my butt into gear! Love the wearable muslin! Have you seen the guy on TM who does calico for $3.50 a metre, available in black and white. If not, and this interests you (it’s much cheaper than what Spotlight rip you off, oops I mean charge you)then let me know an I will post a link to his latest auction. He does any length you want.

    • lazystitcher August 26, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      Ooo – I’ll totally have to look that up!

  2. cb August 27, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    i love the pattern on that skirt! i love using burdastyle. made my very first skirt there and have been itching to make more since i have the elastic and the fabric for it but alas…i have million other projects to finish before i can pick that one up!!

    xo,
    cb

    • lazystitcher August 27, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks so much – I love the pattern too!

  3. laurwyn August 28, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Weirdly, I discovered muslins making only lately…

    Now, the fit on your pencil skirt is gorgeous! I cannot wait to see the finished garment.

  4. The Cupcake Goddess August 28, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I can’t believe that its all of next week! Hope I have enough garments to wear! This wearable muslin is looking fabulous! I love that fabric. Really I do. I can’t wait to see the final project too! The fit looks impeccable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS: Days Five + Six « Lazy Stitching - September 9, 2010

    [...] top is actually a light cotton dress I bought online from Asos. The skirt is my BurdaStyle Jenny [...]

  2. SSS Day Twenty-one: Black Denim Jenny « Lazy Stitching - September 21, 2010

    [...] made a couple of changes from the second muslin.  Following the Cupcake Goddess’s advice I cut the waistband on the grain instead of the [...]

  3. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: Trench Coat; Lazy Shirt; Marimekko Tunic; Mermaid Dress; Jenny Muslin; Colette [...]

  4. MMM Days Five, Six, Seven & Eight « Lazy Stitching - March 9, 2011

    [...] in BurdaStyle Jenny. Piha [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

