Trench Accomplished: McCall’s 5525

29 Aug

Crack the champagne ’cause it is done!

But first lets take a minute to laugh at the Lazy Stitcher of three weeks ago, who thought she could finish this project in a weekend. Yeah, that was foolish. Here was the original plan:

And whilst I deviated from it – I’m still stoked with how it came out. It’s a little more whimsical, with it’s floral lining, than a traditional trench coat but I guess so am I so it works.

I’ve spent so much time on this project, past the point of frustration with all the details, that I’m not sure what to say in this post so instead I’ll just leave you with the pictures.

Previous progress posts can be found here, here, here, here, here, and here.

I’ll pop a link to the proper review on PR later.

… el fin… for now*

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: US$3.99

Fabric: $61.10 (poplin 5.2m @ $4.99/m; charmeuse 2.7m @ $12.99/m – Spotlight)

Notions: $35 (Interfacing – 1.2m @ $5/m; Thread – $9; Buttons – 14 @$1; Shoulder Pads – $5.99)

TOTAL: NZ$101.70 / US$72.30

Just edited to add the cost breakdown – I’m starting to think I should do this before starting a project because that total just scared the crap out of me!

*Glutton for punishment I know, but I’ve signed on for Gertie’s Lady Grey Sew Along, eeekk!


22 Responses to “Trench Accomplished: McCall’s 5525”

  1. lsaspacey August 29, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Wow, it looks awesome!! Good on ya! You should be so proud of yourself, you did a great job.

    • lazystitcher August 29, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. rachel August 29, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    It looks fantastic, and makes me want a trench more than ever before.

    What fabric do you plan to use for Lady Grey? I am very undecided at the mo.

    • lazystitcher August 29, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks :) Dude, I’m in the same boat – I just don’t know. I’m loving the colour of this trench from Ruby (sorry for the pic – I couldn’t find it online) but there are so many choices and being my indecisive self I’m bound to see one someone else has made and be jealous. Any pointers being that you’ve made this one before?

      • rachel August 30, 2010 at 9:45 am #

        I like that trench too – is it a denim?

        Pointers — I dunno. Mine is a light-medium weight wool coating. I’ve seen it made in blogland in fabrics with not too much body and it seems to sag a bit (although that may be the choice of interfacing used?).

        I want mine in a lighter fabric this time, and have seen it done in cotton drills etc that look great. I think I’ll be using a corduroy. Does this help at all? I think Gertie said she would be posting a ‘fabric choices’ list…. that should help!

      • lazystitcher August 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

        I don’t think it’s denim – it seems almost more like…. actually I have no clue – I’m useless at guessing fabrics but here’s a link to the paler version. I think you’re right and I’ll wait for Gertie’s list. Meanwhile it makes for good daydreaming distraction while at work! :)

  3. laurwyn August 29, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Great job! I really like the colors and that gorgeous lining! Is it rain proof? Because I want to make one too, but I don’t know yet how to rain proof it… With a spray or something?

    • lazystitcher August 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      Thanks so much! No it’s not rainproof, which is foolish considering how much rain NZ gets, but oh well… an excuse to buy a cute umbrella.

  4. sabrinaClementine August 30, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Very nice! I love the button tabs. Don’t beat yourself up over the price…it’s a CUSTOM MADE piece!

    I’ve also signed up for the Lady Grey sew along, although I’m horrified at Wool prices…$15-20 a yard (for 4 or 5 yards) is not quite in my budget right now, lol. I should’ve thought of that BEFORE I purchased the pattern and put that badge on my blog. Oh well, maybe I’ll find a suitable alternative to wool that costs a bit less.

    Either way, good luck with the lady grey! I’m sure you’ll do fine because your trench looks great!

    • lazystitcher August 31, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

      I’m totally with you on the price of wool – although it’s possibly worse here. I’m excited though – my pattern arrived at work on Monday and it’s adorable.

  5. Courtney (Miss C) August 30, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Love the trench. I was thinking about Lady Grey, but I live in FL where it rearely gets cold… Should I , or shouldn’t I? Can’t wait to see more stuff from you.

    • lazystitcher August 31, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      DO IT! I’m all for making foolishly impractical items – practical sewing is overrated!

  6. lsaspacey August 30, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Sabrina Clementine,

    Since you’re on the East Coast you should go shopping this weekend. Most of the fall fabrics are on sale for Labor day, I saw some yummy wool blends at Hancocks for 9.99.

  7. Angela August 30, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Congrats! You did a fantastic job!! It’s quite the accomplishment!

  8. Petite Josette September 10, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I just stumled apon your blog and I love your projects !
    This trench coat looks great and it gives me inspiration to try to make my own.

  9. Petite Josette September 10, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I just stumbled apon your blog and I love your projects !
    This trench coat looks great and it gives me inspiration to try to make my own.

    • lazystitcher September 10, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks so much!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS Day One: Butterick 5327 « Lazy Stitching - September 1, 2010

    [...] I wore it with my old standby Veronika Maine Pants, my favourite necklace from Boh Runga and of course the Trench. [...]

  2. SSS: Days Thirteen + Fourteen + Simplicity 2614 « Lazy Stitching - September 14, 2010

    [...] mail from the mailbox. And “dressed” is probably exaggerating things – I threw my trench over the top of my nightie and ran out in bare [...]

  3. SSS: Days Twenty-five + Twenty-six + Twenty-seven « Lazy Stitching - September 27, 2010

    [...] as a green thumb I do not have but Poppa is determined to get me gardening. I wore my trench but switched it up with a brown belt instead of the fabric one. Day Twenty-seven; Cardi – Portmans; [...]

  4. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: Trench Coat; Lazy Shirt; Marimekko Tunic; Mermaid Dress; Jenny Muslin; Colette [...]

  5. MMM Days Nine through Fourteen « Lazy Stitching - March 14, 2011

    [...] coat (McCall’s 5525) to go see the heart-braking Blue Valentine on day [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

