SSS Day One: Butterick 5327

1 Sep

So I’m thinking for Self-Stitched September, I’ll post pics of the outfits twice a week, plus when I wear something I haven’t blogged about,yet. What are you all doing?

This is one of the quick knit tops I whipped up over the weekend. The fabric I found for $3 a metre at Centrepoint and the pattern was from the big box-o-patterns.

It was really quick to put together – just two pieces cut on the fold with two pin tucks running along the front and back. I sewed it all with a narrow zig-zag which worked for the most part, although, the hems aren’t a masterpiece.

I wore it with my old standby Veronika Maine Pants, my favourite necklace from Boh Runga and of course the Trench.

I had planned on getting some more sewing time in tonight but unfortunately I came home after my Chiropractor appointment to find not a single light in my house working. The electricity is on and all the appliances work, there don’t seem to be any circuit breakers tripped and I tried changing the lightbulb – all of which exhausts my basic knowledge of home maintenance. So this is all the light I’m working with right now.

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: US$3.99

Fabric: $4.50 (1.5m @ $3/m – Centrepoint Fabircs)

TOTAL COST: NZ$10.15 / US$7.17

15 Responses to “SSS Day One: Butterick 5327”

  1. Brumby September 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Oh no! You have also exhausted my knowledge of things that make light fixtures work too, but common sense says to me it HAS to be a fuse problem.

    Do you have the old wire-required fuses, or the new ones that flick off when they have tripped?

    My first week in the new place I struggled to get my hot water working, turns out that the hot water cylinder was the only part of the fuse box thing that was not updated and so the fuse was a down for on while the rest were up was on. SO annoying, basin baths are not fun.

    The lamp you have is simply lovely though, I would happily be mesmerized by that for hours with glass of wine in hand!

    • lazystitcher September 2, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

      You were right – it was the fuse! I had never come across the old style of porcelain fuses before but I knocked off early from work to catch the daylight and hallelujah – let there be light. The lamp was a gift from my mum which is unusual because her taste usually errs on the side of wacky and colourful but this is much more me :)

  2. Sølvi September 2, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    I love the top! it´s really cool, I must take a closer look at that pattern.
    I´ll probably post about SSS a couple of times a week at my blog, too. And off course, use way too much time at Flickr looking at what everyone is doing!

    Hurrah for SSS!

    • lazystitcher September 2, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

      Yes so excited for SSS – I’ve added a bunch more blogs to the sewing category of my bloglovin’ reader and now I”m looking forward to pouring a glass of wine and looking at everyones gorgeous work.

  3. sabrinaClementine September 2, 2010 at 3:44 am #

    Cute top! I’m not doing the whole Self-Stitched September thing…although I love the idea of it. Maybe next time there’s a similar challenge I’ll jump in. I think twice a week sounds fine though!

  4. Angela September 2, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    Cute top! Hope you have fun with SSS!

  5. laurwyn September 2, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    It looks really comfy! And the fabric is flowy enough so it falls almost like a kind of drape.
    Looks great on you!

  6. lsaspacey September 2, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    I was going to participate until I realized today was the first of September already! Let’s just say I didn’t make the dress I’m wearing. I can’t even say the slip is one of the ones that I’ve made either. Better luck tomorrow. Now I know why I didn’t post the pledge on my blog! ;)

    • lazystitcher September 2, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      Haha – I had that moment of forgetfulness when I got up yesterday and threw on a rtw dress before I looked at the calendar. I’m so glad I finished the trench before September so worst case scenario I can always wear that as my one item.

  7. Camelia Crinoline September 2, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    The top looks lovely paired with those pants. I hope you manage to sort out the lights.
    During Me-Made-May I tried to update every day but for SSS it will probably be every couple of days because I’ve gotten lazy.

    • lazystitcher September 2, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

      Thanks! Yes – I have lights! I’ve never been so excited to see my ugly bare CFL bulbs light up.

  8. 4 Bushel Farmgal September 2, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    What a nice blouse! The drape of the fabric for the sleeves is so pretty.

    I like the idea of posting every few days. That would work better for me.

    Best wishes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS: Days Nineteen + Twenty « Lazy Stitching - September 20, 2010

    […] was pretty un-eventful… I didn’t even get dressed. Luckily my slouchy top is so comfy it works as […]

  2. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Double-cowl Dress; Gucci-esque Jenny; Jail-break Dress; Khakis; Knit Top; Poet […]

  3. MMM Days Nine through Fourteen « Lazy Stitching - March 14, 2011

    […] Thirteen: Made the airport run at 3:30am so spent the rest of the day in Me Made PJs (Butterick 5327 & New Look […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

