New! New! New Look Patterns!

13 Sep

Okay so it didn’t really require the exclamation points but it looks odd without them.

I’m off work again today as I’m still groggy with this nasty head cold. I was passing time browsing the pattern websites and I see New Look has just put up their Autumn offerings. New Look doesn’t seem to get a lot of love from people but I’ve always found them good fall backs for simple to make garments that go together without frustration. No, they’re not cutting edge but there’s a lot to be said for reliable.

Here’s some of the Autumn releases I’m thinking about:

New Look 6003

The different peplums on this skirt intrigue me plus the silver skirt is just so shiny (I’m like a magpie).

New Look 6001

There are plenty of similar patterns for this dress out there but what drew me to it was the nautical themed blue dress on the bottom right which would be lovely in a soft cotton for summer.

New Look 6008

I haven’t tried my hand at a vest before and these ones look interesting.

New Look 6000

View E of this pattern looks like my favourite shift dress but with elbow length sleeves.

New Look 6011

The tops in this pattern seem to have escaped from suburban 1995 but the pants could work as an alternative to the super wide-legged ones I’m wearing to death.

7 Responses to “New! New! New Look Patterns!”

  1. lsaspacey September 13, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Thanks for this! Ever since Simplicity changed their site design I can go there. Not on my home computer or even my much faster and powerful one at work. It immediately seizes my computer up! I also have to be careful of following anyone’s links to Simplicity or New Look patterns because of it. How frustrating!

    • lazystitcher September 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      How annoying! Have you tried looking at them using patternreview.com?

      • Kat September 13, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

        Hi Alana,
        I just wanted to say that I love your blog & check for updates all the time. You make some lovely things.
        I agree about new look, the are simpler than the big 4 but are just as good sometimes.
        Cheers
        Kat

      • lazystitcher September 13, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

        Oh – I was feeling all down in the dumps about going back to work tomorrow but you just made my night. Thank you!

  2. Kat September 16, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Anytime Alana! ;)

  3. Tammy May 27, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Hi..i just found your blog…i have made already 2 of the patterns above 6000(c) and 6003 (B)ther were really easy to make…
    Well now i’m going to see the rest of your blog…
    love blogs like yours
    bye bye

  4. Sheila October 3, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    Hi, I bought the 6001, dress, I’m trying to make C. I knew I would have trouble so I decided to make one out of musslim first. Sure enough, the neck is throwing me off. So I was wondering if anyone has made it yet. If so, and you wouldn’t mind talking to me on the phone, it would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

