SSS: Days Thirteen + Fourteen + Simplicity 2614

14 Sep

Day Fourteen

Woo hoo! First day back amoungst the living and it went okay. My glands have mostly gone done and I can breathe in and out so feeling pretty good, all things considered.

Certainly better than yesterday when I sheepishly took this photo:

Day Thirteen

I got dressed for the whole 30 seconds it took me to run and grab the mail from the mailbox. And “dressed” is probably exaggerating things – I threw my trench over the top of my nightie and ran out in bare feet.

To make up for barely scraping by on a Self-Stitched-September technicality, today I pressed my Simplicity 2614 blouse and got some better pics than the one at the hotel last week.

Day 14; Blouse - Simplicity 2614; Pants - Veronika Maine

This blouse was surprisingly easy to sew. It had some great reviews on PR and went together really quickly. It’s a bit of a hodge-podge of views but it’s great that all the different design elements are interchangeable. All the tops use the same bodice pieces which include gathering at the shoulder and bust, and the lower piece cut on the bias. The back has extends past the usual shoulder seam so appears like a yoke from the front. I used the sleeves from view D (I was lazy and couldn’t be bothered fitting a cuff) and the tie from View E.

Simplicity 2614

The pattern has different cup size bust pieces, which I found totally useful in the McCall’s 6035 shirt and the Simplicity Amazing Fit dress, but in this one they appear to have adjusted the width of the pattern but not so much the length. Unfortunately this meant that I had the same issue as with RTW tops and the under bust seam was several inches too high.

It should be an easy fix though – next time I’ll just bring it down in front by two inches and I’ll also lengthen the midriff piece as I prefer a little more length there.

TOTAL COST:

Pattern: $13

Fabric: $7.5 (1.5m @ $5/m – Spotlight)

TOTAL : NZ$20.50 / US$14.95

8 Responses to “SSS: Days Thirteen + Fourteen + Simplicity 2614”

  1. Brumby September 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Glad you are feeling better!

    • lazystitcher September 15, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks hun :)

  2. Patty September 15, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    I’ve noticed that length issue too on those multi-cup sized patterns – it totally amazes me! If just making it wider would work, I could just use the next size up!

    One of the best parts of sewing is being able to wear shirts with underbust seams, empire waists, etc., so that they don’t cut across my bust in a wierd way!

    • lazystitcher September 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

      I know! So very annoying – because as soon as I finished (and granted I should have fitted as I went but I am laaaaazy) it felt ready to wear and not in the good way. I’m sure we’re in the same boat of having spent years wearing those empire waists and feeling frustrated!

  3. Angela September 15, 2010 at 4:01 am #

    Glad you’re feeling better! Love the top!! What did you use for the fabric? Is it cotton?

    • lazystitcher September 15, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks chick! I’m not sure what the fabric really is. I think it’s a poly-cotton – heavy on the poly, light on the cotton. It has a sort of embossed polka dotty type pattern on it which adds a little interest.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Sixth Row: Suedette Skirt; Turquoise Danielle Dress; Black Pants + Cynthia Rowley Top; Jenny Skirt; Tie-neck Blouse […]

  2. MMM Days Nine through Fourteen « Lazy Stitching - March 14, 2011

    […] Urrggh… Monday morning back to work (Blouse:Simplicity 2614) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

