SSS Day Thirty: The Gertie Dress

1 Oct

Day Thirty

This post officially marks the completion of both Self-Stitched-September and the dress inspired by the wonderful blogger, Gertie’s Christina Hendricks Dress.

The basic pattern I used was a bit of a hodge-podge. I started with New Look 6824 for the bodice in a size 14 and made a full bust adjustment adding in a total of 4 inches at the bust point and waist. The cap sleeves are from Simplicity 2648 and the skirt is my beloved BurdaStyle Jenny.

I tried a different way of cutting out on this dress too.

I weighted the pattern with washers and traced the outline with a chalk wheel. I found this so much easier and I could fit the layout much closer together than pining it down. The result was quicker and more acurate so definitely a winner for me. Now I just need to find a chalk wheel in a colour other than white.

I also solved the neckline detail dilema thank to a comment from Lsaspacey on the poll post suggesting snaps to make the straps removable. So what did I end up with?

Three Dresses in One!

Here’s what the basic dress looks like with no detailing:

Then with the ‘Christina Hendricks‘ detailing:

And finally, with the sweet ‘Gertie Bow’

I didn’t have snaps or even buttons that matched so I just added 5 white buttons to the key points, but who’s going to know. You can keep a secret, right?

Related Posts:

P.S. Thanks for all the lovely comments, feedback and help from everyone on this dress – it was so very appreciated.

Hope to have a Self-Stitched-September wrap up with the TGIF post tomorrow.

11 Responses to “SSS Day Thirty: The Gertie Dress”

  1. Debi October 2, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    WOW! This is such a great idea! I love the dress and it looks fantastic! I love the ‘Gertie’ version with the bow and the color is fabulous! What a great way to end SSS!

  2. Brumby October 2, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    That is such a clever idea! It looks fantastic, you deservedly look like the cat that got the cream in the Christina Hendricks picture!

  3. lsaspacey October 2, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Woo hoo! I’m so glad you did it, it looks great and you now have three different moods of dress. It looks awesome and makes me want another purple dress pronto!

  4. rachel October 2, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I think the buttons are a great idea. They’ll be more sturdy than snaps which may come loose. I really love this dress – the Christina Hendricks detail is still my fave!

  5. Lady Cherry October 3, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    What a gorgeous colour! I’m not feeling brave enough to mix and match patterns yet, but now winter is here I am planning to sew alot more. Stop by my blogs sometime! x

  6. Angela October 6, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    OH MY GOODNESS… I LOVE YOUR DRESS! Hehe… it looks fabulous on you, too!

  7. lazystitcher October 6, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Thanks for all the kind, kind comments guys. I’m really happy it all came together :)

  8. Seraphinalina December 9, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I just flipped back here from your post today, “Gertie dress” piqued my curiousity. What a fantastic dress. Please tell me you wear this all the time? It’s beautiful and so flattering.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    [...] Row: African Print Skirt; Amazing Fit Dress; Retro Ball Gown; Purple Gertie Dress; Betty Dress; Black [...]

  2. Fall Palette Challenge: Double-knit Pencil Skirt, Two Ways « Lazy Stitching - December 9, 2011

    [...] as I’ve already sung the joys of both double-knit (Bonus Christmas Dress, Amazing Fit Dress, Gertie Dress) and Burdastyle’s Jenny Skirt pattern (here, here, here, and [...]

  3. The Gray Swan Dress « Lazy Stitching - January 23, 2012

    [...] the end, I used Ali’s method of pin-tracing the bodice pattern pieces from my Gertie dress (which originally used New Look 6824); the sleeves came from my newly adjusted Victory Hazel Dress [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

