Cowboy Blouse: Butterick 4985

28 Nov

The fabric is all cowboy but this is most definitely a blouse.
Little Sis is napping in the living room where I normally take snaps, so apologies for the awkward poses ;). The mystery pattern from the gathered bust FBA post is Butterick 4985, in view A, pieced together between the ongoing familial interruptions.

I came across it after posts from the impeccably stylish Carolyn who has used it in many different guises.

The pattern is shaped with gathers under the bust and princess panels on the lower bodice. I cut a size 18 through the shoulders, with a two inch FBA (shown here) and a size 20 cut in the lower. I lengthened the lower bodice but unfortunately forgot to add some width at the hips so it’s pulling a little across there, but asides from that the fit is pretty good.

What you don’t see in the illustrations on this pattern is that the sleeve on View A is actually slit through the centre which gives them their fluttery effect. I wasn’t aware of it until I started construction – good thing I read the instructions this time.

The neckline is high and tied with a bow which I love on other people but doesn’t quite feel like me. Generally a high neck with a full bust equals quite a chesty look, so I tend to avoid it but others seem to be proving me wrong so I’m re-eveluating.

 

22 Responses to “Cowboy Blouse: Butterick 4985”

  1. rachel November 28, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    It looks fantastic! The bow looks great on you – and very professionally made.

    • lazystitcher November 28, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      Thanks Rachel!

  2. Brumby November 28, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I am with you, I love big bows but don’t feel they work on me either, sheer fabrics I do seem to be okay with. I love the fabric!

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

      Thanks chick :)

  3. laurwyn November 28, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    That pattern is gorgeous! The sleeves, the gathers under the bust and the little bow.
    Like you, I don’t know if I would like the effect of the bow on me, but I think that trying proved it wrong! I really like it on you. Also, It’d look nice tucked in a pencil skirt!

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

      Oh yes – I wore it with my Rust coloured skirt to work today!

  4. LaKaribane November 29, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I’m loving it! And I have an idea or two for the hip problem. My brother had a Sean John shirt in exactly the same checks as your blouse but with accents in the reverse dominant colors. In the shaped hem side seam there was a soufflet, a small triangle of bias fabric that contrasted.

    Sooo, my suggestion to you is to do just that: use the reverse of you fabric and add to the side seam.
    Another option is to move the last 3 buttons towards the CF edge so they strain less. Good luck!

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Those are some great ideas – thanks hun!

  5. Kim November 29, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    I would have agreed with you on the high neck plus bustiness but this looks great on you. I’m built the same way and may need to reconsider this style for myself. Very cute blouse!

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks so much!

  6. June November 29, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    I love the blouse! I just bought this pattern this weekend and I can’t wait to try it out! I discovered your blog today and I’m enjoying reading it :)

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Welcome :)

  7. Louella November 29, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    You really look fab in your sharp looking top! Very nice use of fabric and style.

  8. Sølvi November 29, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    This looks absolutely gorgeous on you! I agree with you in theory with the whole avoid the high neck- principles. But I have come to the conclusion that the shape of the sleeves have a lot to do with how this will work or not.

    I´ve been working on the coffee- date dress (by selfishseamstress) and the shape just didn´t work for me, until I made a muslin sleeve for it. Then everything looked much more balanced! (Unfortunately I don´t have enough fabric for the sleeves, so I have to come up with something smart for that one…)

    The type of sleeves you have picked here works great! It balances off the bow and the high neck. Beautiful! :-)

    • lazystitcher November 29, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      You are right as always Solvi! I had the same concerns when I first tried on my Macaron – it wasn’t until after the sleeves were added that I thought it would work :)

  9. Shannon December 1, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    This looks awesome on you! Great job!

  10. Angela December 1, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Fantastic top!! You looks great on you!!

  11. Bex December 3, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Wow – you totally rock that top! Awesomeness…

  12. Meg July 22, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    Beyond words with how happy I am to have found your blog post on this. I bought the pattern this morning. I’ll be cutting the same size(s) and needing the same adjustments. And it’ll be my first time with a FBA. So glad you’ll be there to hold my hand, virtually speaking that is. Thank you!!!

    • lazystitcher July 23, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Oh that’s fantastic! I’m hardly an expert but if you have any questions just drop me a line :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marimekko Inspired Tunic: Burda 03/2010 #104 « Lazy Stitching - December 2, 2010

    […] Continued high-necked adventures for full busted ladies […]

  2. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Yoke Blouse; Christmas Dress; Cowboy Blouse; Bastille […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

