Double Cowl Dress: McCall’s 6069

11 Dec

What a difference a sleeve makes! I think I may have inadvertently made myself a Fall/Winter party dress rather than a summer one.

It was well intentioned – the evenings can still have a wee chill in the air and my arms can always use a little extra coverage. The design is showy already with it’s cowl neck front and back, I thought the sleeves would add a little class. Sadly the overall effect makes it better suited to late summer or early fall. But don’t you worry, it’ll see plenty of wear later in the season.

The pattern is labelled ‘Easy’ by McCall’s and for the most part it is although making pleats in knit fabric isn’t the most fun one can have. They also say this is a one hour dress… and to their defense they only count sewing machine time… but when you take into account everything else it’s probably more like four hours so don’t be fooled.

Is anyone else as bad as I am at underestimating how long things take to make?

I like the end result but next time I’ll make a couple of changes mostly in the skirt. It needs to be longer and wider for me as it’s gathered in by elastic at the waist. In it’s current cut it doesn’t have the desired effect so I’ll be throwing on a belt and know better for next time.

Still, that’s another one check off my December Wardrobe list!

11 Responses to “Double Cowl Dress: McCall’s 6069”

  1. LaKaribane December 12, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    Looks fantastic! Sew on, girl! You’re going to make it through the list in no time. And great color!

  2. laurwyn December 12, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Indeed, the cowls are gorgeous! It really sublimes your curves.
    I am with you about knit and pleats… I am busy with that at the moment (another dress for my mum), and at times, I want to make a big ball with the fabric and throw it away!
    Anyway, back to your dress: I like the sleeves a lot! They won’t work if it is too warm, but that dress will be usable the rest of the year!

  3. dressingmyself December 12, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    The cowl back and the sleeves look very elegant.
    Gathered waists are always a problem. They are quick to make, but seldom a flattering fit. Wish I knew a fast way to tailor!

  4. Tasia December 12, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    Fantastic dress! I like the sleeves, you’re right they do balance out the low-back neckline even if it does become a Fall dress! (To me that seems logical since it’s winter here :)) Looks great with the belt. Yay! Another one completed!

  5. lazystitcher December 12, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    Thanks for all the lovely comments guys!It’s always so good to hear that other people are ‘challenged’ by the same things :)

  6. Brumby December 12, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Looks fantastic, love the colour and you may just have given me cause to rethink my neutrality on cowl backed garments… there is something very subtly sexy about this!

  7. lizajane December 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I always underestimate the time it takes to complete things. Always.
    I love, love, love the back cowl. The sleeves are perfect. Beautiful on you!

  8. sabrinaClementine December 16, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    I really like this dress. It’s been in my “maybe” list for patterns for a while, but I think I might get it on the next .99 sale. I also keep forgetting it’s summer over there….it’s winter here! lol. I think maybe if you wore it at night with some nice sandals you could get away with the sleeves. (Or maybe not.) Either way, it looks great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bonus Party Dress: New Look 6643 « Lazy Stitching - December 13, 2010

    […] sulking for a minute when Dress #2 of my Party Panic Wardrobe didn’t quite capture the summer feeling I wanted, I made a super […]

  2. McCall’s 6069: A Reversible Redux « Lazy Stitching - December 15, 2010

    […] Here’s what I made on Sunday afternoon. I really wanted to give McCall’s 6069 another try but this time swapping out the unflattering straight (and too short) skirt for my tried and true Burda Style Jenny pencil skirt. I just cut the back piece on the fold (leaving off the vent), stitched the darts and then gathered the top into the skirt before stitching. I still put in the elastic at the waist but the pencil outline was a lot nicer than the original. […]

  3. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Double-cowl Dress; Gucci-esque Jenny; Jail-break Dress; Khakis; Knit Top; Poet […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

