MMM Day Fifteen

15 Mar

Every couple of weeks I spend some quality time with an apheresis machine and the hilarious ladies at the NZ Blood Service. Seriously, those girls always seem to be having a ball. Must be all the good karma coming their way.

If you live in a main centre donating is as easy as calling 0800 GIVE BLOOD. After you have donated once, ask if you meet the requirements for plasma or platelet donation. It takes a little longer but isn’t any more uncomfortable and you can donate as often as every 2 weeks rather than three monthly with whole blood. The blood service needs plasma donors now as they are expecting a 30% increase in demand as more and more uses for the product are discovered. For more info, check out their website.

(Okay, preachy spiel over – I promise :))

Anyways, whilst it doesn’t really hurt (the tiny finger prick is worse), donating plasma does involve 45 minutes of lying down in public so comfort is king. Today’s me-made pic is pretty uninspired but comfy as.

Me-made top: Butterick 5327

3 Responses to “MMM Day Fifteen”

  1. Laurwyn March 15, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Nice post!

    Before I moved, I used to give plastelet every 2 weeks. They were happy because I had nice stuff in it (don’t ask, I have forgotten :s).
    The only issue I had with it was that, instead of 45 min, it took me almost double, because there was less pressure and I had to pump a little cushion in my hand. It also was a bit unpleasant each fourth of a cycle when the machine puts the red cells back into me…
    Anyway, even with a little bit of not comfy moments, I will start doing it again as soon as I can in my new place. The rules are different here.
    And nothing beats the feeling you get right after you give blood/plasma/platelets

  2. rachel March 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    You are so good! I’m going to look into when I could do this after having a baby – I know I can’t give blood now, I wonder how long after it will be?

    • lazystitcher March 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Hey chick, Wow baby must be getting super close now! I think for donations it’s a minimum of nine months after birth and at least 3 months after you finish breastfeeding…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

