A June Challenge Mash-up

1 Jun

I think I’m over the blind panic stage of the big decision now, thanks in huge part to all your kind words. A little reassurance goes a very long way when you’re feeling low. I think the stress of it all killed my immune system though as I seem to have contracted the plague* last week. Working from home (read:bed) and a light fever left little energy for sewing but time enough to start planning and making lists.

One of the exciting things about heading to the U.K. is actually being in the same hemisphere and therefore season as so many of the fabulous bloggers out there and being able to participate in their seasonal challenges.

Now, you may have noticed I have a somewhat patchy history with sew-alongs and challenges but they’re just so enticing:

So Zo‘s back with another me-made month. 30 days of self stitched items. Multiply that across the 120+ participants, that’s a whole lot of sewing to enjoy. I’m not in a place to take on this round but as many of my hand-made items will be going into storage I’d like to wear as many as I can one last time.

The Naked Seamstress is challenging folks to sew four summer dresses in the month of June. I think I can manage maybe 2 or 3 – more than that won’t fit in my suitcase!

 

 

 

 

The 2nd year of the Summer Essentials Sew-Along has launched, this year with three hosts: Ali of The Wardrobe Re-imagined, Alessa of Farbenfreude, and Sarah of Rhinestones and Telephones. With categories like ‘poolside pretties’ and ‘those summer nights’ who could resist.

 

 

And finally, I missed the boat on this one what with Winter starting here today but I’m going to swing this round to be a Summer Palette Challenge. Everything I pack needs to co-ordinate so starting with a colour palette is key. Plus I can learn from everyone else’s experiences on the Colette Pattern Forum.

So there it is, a mish-mash of sewing fun to pick and choose from to create a wardrobe that weighs less than 20kg and fits in one suitcase.

*(Okay so maybe not the plague but it was nasty)

2 Responses to “A June Challenge Mash-up”

  1. Dibs June 1, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    lol…and I thought I was taking on too many challenges. Wow….Good luck. Looking forward to seeing what you create. I have to check out the Naked Seamtress’s challenge now.

  2. lsaspacey June 2, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

