Designer Pattern Collaboration Process: Cynthia Rowley + Simplicity

19 Aug

Over on Simplicity Pattern’s blog they have a really fascinating series of posts following the collaboration process for a new pattern in their Cynthia Rowley line.

What was most surprising to me is how much of the design work is done from Simplicity’s end.

The dress pattern they are creating is for this one from Rowley’s A/W 11 line.

A sample of the original garment is sent to the pattern team who inspect all the seams, fabric and design elements. They then digitally trace the pattern from the garment and make a muslin version, whilst starting to incorporate different variations for making at home.

 

Photos and sketches are sent back and forth between simplicity and the designer’s team until both are happy. Then a sample garment is made using the suggested fabric before finalising the design.

I thought it was really interesting to see how it develops and you can see much more detail over at Simplicty.

All photos via Simplicity.com

 

5 Responses to “Designer Pattern Collaboration Process: Cynthia Rowley + Simplicity”

  1. Suzie August 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Ooo – that’s really interesting, thanks for sharing!
    What is it with Cythia Rowley and raglan sleeves?!

  2. Kim August 20, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    I can’t wait for them to release this pattern! I love it! Thanks for the link.

  3. lsaspacey August 23, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Yeah, I was following that too. I wish there had been more updates though but I guess this is the first time that they did this kind of thing so I’ll let them slack. You saw how they had a poll to pick which dress from her collection they would copy? I’m wondering how many people voted because I knew nothing about it and I didn’t see any mention on the sewblogs either.

    Well, I like the pattern but I would like it better if it offered two of the views they decided against: the sleeveless halter from the top pic and the cute short sleeves from the second one. But then maybe Cynthia herself decided against those?

  4. lsaspacey August 23, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Oops, got that wrong, the sexy halter is still in it’s just the short sleeves that are not but it would be easy to change that.

    • lazystitcher August 23, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      Yeah, I really liked the look of those short sleeves too. I wonder if you could draft something?
      P.s. I remember the vote being on their site about 6months ago :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

