Colette Rooibos Sew-along: First Muslin

21 Aug

More muslining today. This time I’m catching up on Colette Pattern’s Rooibos Sew-along. For the first go around I made a 2in full bust adjustment following the CP tutorial here. Then I graded to an 18 at the midriff and 18 +2in at the skirt.

The pattern itself was surprisingly quick to construct – less than 90 minutes – although being a muslin there’s no facing, zip or hem.

As for the fit, the FBA worked well in terms of width but as usual there’s not quite enough length.

Here I’ve used pins to mark where the bottom of the bust should be.

I’m hoping that bringing the bust down and the midriff properly flat under the bust should fix the slight boxy feeling from the side.

The back’s okay but I’ll add a little more length. Where it finishes now is probably the length I should hem it at so I need to add the allowance to the bottom.

All in all it’s not too bad and I’m loving the little details like the pockets and the neckline at the back. Very excited to get started on the proper one this week.

 

9 Responses to “Colette Rooibos Sew-along: First Muslin”

  1. Kim August 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    This is looking great! I agree, just a smidge in the bodice length and you’ll be good to go. I’ve been lucky with Colette patterns and haven’t had to do FBA’s with them which is very surprising. I had every intention of doing the Roobios Sewalong but got sidetracked. I can’t wait to see your final version.

    • mujerboricua August 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      The bust line looked a bit high on me as well. I went on vacation and just got back. Looking forward to making another muslin. Hoping the second time is the charm.

  2. Elisabeth August 22, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Looks great! I usually have to do FBA but I didn’t for this one, surprisingly. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  3. mujerboricua August 26, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Hello again!

    I am going nuts with my muslin. And because we have similar measurements I was wondering if you could give me a bit of advise? My email address is mujerboricua at yahoo dot com.

    • mujerboricua August 26, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      Many thanks in advance! Hope you’re enjoying your holiday!

    • lazystitcher August 27, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Sure thing, I’ll email you this afternoon :)

  4. 2paw August 27, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Oh I have exactly the same problem after my 2inch FBA to the size 18!!! I wasn’t quite sure how to fix it, so thank you!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rooibos Sew-along: Muslin Two « Lazy Stitching - August 24, 2011

    [...] back to the first muslin here is the photo showing the length issue in the [...]

  2. Colette Rooibos: The Wilma Dress « Lazy Stitching - September 18, 2011

    [...] I’ve been over the changes here and here but to summarise – I made a 2 in full bust adjustment and added another 1-1.5 in length [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

