Colette Rooibos: The Wilma Dress

18 Sep

This dress just screams Wilma Flintstone at me… in a good way I mean. I think the orange matches her hair perfectly and the touch of leopard adds that pre-historic edge.

Plus, remember my Betty Dress?

Wilma and Betty always did make a glamorous pair.

Wilma Flintstone & Betty Rubble

The Pattern: Colette Rooibos

Size: 16/18 with adjustments

Fabric: Deep Orange Linen which I assume is a blend because it was only £3 per metre on Goldhawke Road and a leopard print cotton from the same place.

Alterations: I’ve been over the changes here and here but to summarise – I made a 2 in full bust adjustment and added another 1-1.5 in length to the bodice front, moving the under-bust darts and adding a side seam one. I narrowed and lengthened the back bodice darts and added 1/2 in to the length. The midriff was a size 18 as was the skirt which I lengthened by 3 inches and and hemmed with an extension to add weight.

I really love the subtle details of this pattern. I added the optional piping to the pockets, neckline and arm holes and used the print for the bodice facing and pockets.

It’s animal print but in a much more wearable way than the last time I tried it.

Heads removed to protect the innocent.

I used Colette’s tutorials to make first the bias binding then the piping. The sew-along posts were great to refer to when needed too – in fact this makes it one of the few sew-along’s I actually managed to complete!

 

Even the zipper went in easily with my shiny new invisible zipper foot.Yabba Dabba Doo!

 

27 Responses to “Colette Rooibos: The Wilma Dress”

  1. Camelia Crinoline September 18, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    It looks great. I love the subtlety of the leopard print. It matches the orange so well too. I actually like linen blends better because they don’t wrinkle like crazy like 100% linen does.

  2. Sandy September 18, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    I agree… the subtle leopard print is great! I love orange too. Great dress, great job putting it together — look at that perfectly aligned zipper. Very nice.

  3. Susan September 18, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Very pretty! I love your fabric choices and it looks great on you!

  4. Rachel September 18, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    You look amazing and the fit is spot on!

  5. mujerboricua September 18, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    The fit looks great! And I am going to sound like a broken record, repeating what has already been said but love the orange with the leopard print combo.

  6. theunconventionalhousewife September 19, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I adore the orange. It’s a beautiful color that unfortunately, makes me look as if I might be ill. So I love seeing others wear it and so well.

    This is also the perfect post to tell you that I used your FBA adjustment directions for a gathered bodice and it came out beautifully. Thank you so much!! I mentioned it in my blog if you’re curious.

    • lazystitcher September 21, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      So glad it was helpful!

  7. little betty September 19, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    Great work – that zipper looks perfect!

  8. Leila September 19, 2011 at 4:17 am #

    I love this dress on you! All those details are just wowing me to bits.

  9. Suzyb September 19, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I love the pockets and the piping! You do bust darts so well, I always stick to princess seams because my darts always end up looking too pointy.

  10. Suzie September 19, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    This is so fab – love the leopard print!

  11. Kat September 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Alana, you look great not like wilma at all. What a great colour combo. Would you make it again? It’s a lovely dress! I have this cut out and ready to go but don’t have the time to start it. Kat :)

    • lazystitcher September 21, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      I would definitely make it again. Maybe even as a top in a less structured fabric :) It’s pretty quick to come together so if you already have it cut you should go for it!

  12. Krysta September 20, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    Amazing job! The Rooibos fits you perfectly!

  13. Sølvi September 20, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Fantastic, you look gorgeous! I love the name…:-) -and the rust/leopard. Sigh. Such a great combo. The fit is amazing, and I really really am starting to contemplate a invisible zipper foot. Your zip is perfect in its invisibility! :-)

  14. Law September 20, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I love this dress. I’m planning to make one too myself, your FBA posts will come in handy. Like the subtle use of animal print as well.

  15. Laurence September 20, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I love it!!! It is one of the first use of leopard fabric I do approve of! And let’s face it, orange is in ;) It makes you look very healthy too!

  16. lazystitcher September 21, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Thanks so much, for all the lovely words. You guys made my day x

  17. Amy October 30, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Lovely to meet you yesterday Alanna! Your Rooibos is lovely, and I see what you mean about your first leopard print dress! You’ve encouraged me to put some effort into figuring out a FBA :)

    • lazystitcher October 31, 2011 at 10:26 am #

      Hey Amy! Lovely to meet you too :)
      P.s. this post shows a basic FBA if it’s any help.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finish What You Start « Living in Red - September 19, 2011

    [...] over time, so they no longer mean the same thing. I was reminded of the Flintstones today on the Lazy Stitcher’s post, and it made me think of the theme song ending… “We’ll have a gay, ol’ [...]

  2. Colette Patterns Fall Palette Challenge « Lazy Stitching - September 21, 2011

    [...] you can see the iron oxide orange picks up on the colour of my Rooibos dress so I’m counting that one as my first item just so I can say I’m not as behind as I [...]

  3. Fall Palette Challenge: Colour-blocked Blouse « Lazy Stitching - September 29, 2011

    [...] pic, I think.For the back, I cut two of the yoke and used the fancy rolling trick from making my Rooibos Dress to ensure the edges were finished top and bottom. The back has a pleat  for [...]

  4. The Bombshell Dress Meet Up – A Direct Hit! | Did You Make That? - October 30, 2011

    [...] Lazy Stitching in her Rooibos [...]

  5. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    [...] Column (top to bottom): Colette Rooibos, Striped Sorbetto, Ugly [...]

  6. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    [...] Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

