Fall Palette Challenge: Colour-blocked Blouse

29 Sep

Second item of my fall challenge wardrobe done!

This blouse is perfect for the change of season. It’s nice and loose for the freak scorching day like today but can easily pair with cardigan and trousers too.

Man! I always remember lipstick after the fact!

The Pattern: A Colette mash up of the Sorbetto tank top and Macaron sleeves.

Size: 16 with 2 in full bust adjustment.

Fabric: Swiss-dot synthetic. I learnt the hard way that it wasn’t cotton by melting a hole in one sleeve. Luckily there was enough to re-cut. The blue contrast is a crepe-polyester lining fabric. I like that the colours are similar but still contrasting.

Alterations: So I went a bit off the beaten path from the original Sorbetto pattern. After making my peter-pan sorbetto I thought it would be nice to make a button-down version. It turned out to be quite straight forward although it takes a little time thinking it through.

Here you can see all the pieces I cut from the original form. The sleeves came straight from the Macaron pattern as planned.

Thankfully they set-in perfectly due, I guess, to being cut off the same Colette block.  The joy of these sleeves is the pretty scallop edge which I piped with the contrast to show the detail.

You can see it better in this pic, I think.For the back, I cut two of the yoke and used the fancy rolling trick from making my Rooibos Dress to ensure the edges were finished top and bottom. The back has a pleat  for ease.

On the front, the button-hole placket has piped edges and large matching buttons although the damn button-holes were a nightmare so lets not look too closely at those.

All things considered, this was a lot of fun to make and I’m sure it’ll get plenty of wear.

( P.s. Anyone else refusing to let the summer of the Sorbetto die?)

8 Responses to “Fall Palette Challenge: Colour-blocked Blouse”

  1. lsaspacey September 29, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    So cute. I love that blue Swiss dot so much. I have an old top and skirt in almost that same shade of eyelet that I’m going to rework into something.

  2. Rachel September 29, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    That is one awesome blouse Alana. I love the rooibos sleeves.

  3. Suzyb September 29, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Gorgeous! The material is so pretty and I like the buttons and the pleat in the back. I downloaded sorbetto yesterday after reading your blog post!! Can’t wait to have a go with it

  4. little betty September 30, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    Wow great top. Looks like all the work and mashing paid off!

  5. Sølvi September 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Gorgeous colors! Love the fabric choice, and your redesigning of the Sorbetto is so clever! And ling live Sorbetto! :-)

  6. Kate October 6, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Great top! Can’t believe I have only discovered your blog – I am so inspired to sew for me again!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    […] Second Column (top to bottom): Sunshine Blouse (fail), Christmas Macaron, Colour-blocked Blouse. […]

  2. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    […] Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

