Floral Straight Skirt: BurdaStyle October 2011-136

16 Oct

The Pattern: Burda Magazine October 2011-#136.

Size: 52 – No alterations.

Fabric: Floral Cotton-Sateen remnant from Ditto Fabrics.

I was on the hunt yesterday for something simple but pretty to wear for my sister’s birthday dinner and this skirt fit the bill perfectly. The fabric has been in my stash a little while after picking it up from the remnant table at Ditto fabrics on a trip to Brighton and I was quite happy to put it into use.

The pattern is from the plus section of October’s Burda Magazine is really just 6 panels with a side zip. It is lined rather than using facings and although the back has two vents, the lining is cut to finish above them so you don’t frazzle your brain attaching it.

In fact, the only thing that required creative thinking was the hem.

The skirt is shaped by the curves of the panels meaning the circumference at the hem is smaller than were it’s folded.

In the end, I unpicked the seams between the top stitching and spread them apart so they sat flush before stitching each panel in place which left everything neat and tidy inside.

On to the fit – for the first time I made a straight size 52 without any alterations which fit fine size-wise although I have a small issue with the shape.

Every figure has it’s quirks to work around and one of mine is a large high hip that juts abruptly out as you can see in this picture.

This means that skirts and pants that sit below the natural waist and with no waistband sit oddly on my hips like my Suedette Skirt (A-line skirts are the worst).

For styles like this I definitely don’t tuck in my top and style-wise, high-waisted pencil skirts are a better way to go (this is where I sing the praises of BurdaStyle Jenny yet again).

14 Responses to “Floral Straight Skirt: BurdaStyle October 2011-136”

  1. Lakaribane October 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I liked this post a lot. I have a high-waisted skirt UFO-in-the-making (Life is getting in the way) and I think I need a belt.

    I don’t tuck my blouses, usually.

    Love the last look the most. Reminds me of those fake two-piece dresses that were in fashion these last couple of years. Did you make the white knit top? Very cute.

    • lazystitcher October 17, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks – sadly I can’t take credit for the white top, it was purchased at an Australian chain called Portmans.

  2. Suzy October 17, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    I have the same problem with my hips, It’s one of the reasons I started sewing because I could never find pants or skirts to fit quite right. That skirt fits you beautifully though, the fabic is gorgeous (I love Sateen!). I downloaded the Jenny skirt the other day, made it up but it looks too tight, need to add some width, but I can see why everyone loves it!

    • lazystitcher October 17, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      Hey Suzy, the first time I made the Jenny skirt I used Sunni’s Pencil Skirt sew-along to adjust the fit. From memory the biggest adjustment I made was adding additional length at the hip which helped the fit hugely. I definitely reccommend her posts especially because she used this actual pattern. :)

  3. Sølvi October 17, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    What a great- looking skirt! I really love the fabric. I have cut out this skirt to make for a friend, so thanks for the useful information about the hem, very good to know before I start sewing away! :-)

    • lazystitcher October 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      Fantastc! The only other advice I’d give is to make sure the pieces are labelled and the top edge marked as they look pretty much the same no matter which direction they’re in and I got muddled more than a few times ;-)

  4. elisemcg October 17, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Everyone of your creations are just lovely ! I am inspired to do some sewing , thank you !

    Best,
    elise

    • lazystitcher October 17, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      Thank you! That’s so kind :)

  5. kirsty October 17, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Wow you did an excellent job on your Jenny skirt, and it is a style that totally suits you. I love that outfit and now I want to make one of those skirts. If I make as good a job of it as you did I will be super pleased ! :-))

  6. rachel October 18, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    It is a gorgeous skirt Alana! Great that you got it out of a remnant too.

  7. Vicki Kate October 30, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Your Jenny skirt is stunning! I like this style anyway but yours has convinced me that it has got to go on the ‘to sew’ list.

    • lazystitcher October 31, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Oh fantastic! It’s a great pattern :)

  8. Susan Davis November 6, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Your Jenny skirt is fabulous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    [...] Column (top to bottom): Floral Skirt, Liberty Tee, Minoru Sweater [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

