Fall Palette Challenge: White Lace Tee

19 Oct

Number three on my Fall Palette Challenge wardrobe may be my most favourite item this year.

It’s a simple white lace kimono sleeved tee, based off Colette’s free Sorbetto tank pattern. I raised the neck front and back then used this tutorial from Analog Me  to draft the kimono sleeve.

The lace is a cotton found on Goldhawke Road which the proprieter swore had also been purchased by buyers from top shop (hmmm, take that with a grain of salt) however at only £4 a meter it was a good deal. The underlining is a slinky synthetic twill that feels really soft and would be a nightmare to sew if it weren’t together with the cotton lace.

I cut the lace out first then squared the edges of the lining on the cutting board securing with pins. With the lace on top I used more pins to hold it in place before hand-basting around the edges and along the dart legs. Once the basting was in place, cutting the slinky fabric was easy and the rest of the top was sewn as one layer.

What I really like about it is that the simplicity of the pattern meant I could spend more time on things like this and french seams and hand-tacked binding. The details combined with the silkiness and weight of the fabric means that this feels like a quality garment even if it only cost £7. It’s something about the heaviness of the fabric that reminds me of trying on expensive clothes, I think.

This may be my favourite Sorbetto yet.

28 Responses to “Fall Palette Challenge: White Lace Tee”

  1. Cecili October 19, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Wow your top is so beautiful, you look gorgeous in it! You made something very interesting and personal from that basic pattern, I’m impressed :)

  2. molly October 19, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    So awesome! I love kimono sleeves and it makes you look so put together with the lace.

  3. Sigrid October 19, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    It really is lovely. The fabric and style are perfect together.

  4. Emma Dickson October 19, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    really really lovely. looks amazing on you. i totally love simple but well made clothes and hopefully when my confidence and skills grow a bit i can make something as ace as this!
    x

  5. Rachel October 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    It is such a gorgeous top – and you look so beautiful in it! Did you get your hair done? It is looking very nice :-)

    • lazystitcher October 19, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      No just flat ironed it rather than it’s usual mess. To be honest, it’s in desperate need of a colour but I’ve been far too lazy ;-)

  6. liza jane October 19, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I love a top with kimono sleeves. I also love lace, so this is a win-win! It really is gorgeous.

    • lazystitcher October 19, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Yes, the sleeves are so comfy! Thank you :)

  7. yoshimi October 20, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    You look so beautiful in it. Great fabric choice!

  8. Laura October 20, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    can you talk more about how you drafted the sleeve? I looked at the tutorial and saw that she used a sleeve pattern — did you too? or could one, as she says just lay a t-shirt down and draw it up, easy peasy. This is seriously the most beautiful sorbetto I’ve seen and I’m dying to have sleeves on one, but not the little cap sleeves (too tight).

    • lazystitcher October 31, 2011 at 10:34 am #

      Hey Laura, I used a sleeve pattern (colette macaron) and did it just like the tutorial. But I can see how if you laid down a t-shirt you could round off the under arm to create the kimono sleeve. You would need to make sure it wasn’t a tight knit tee though as you need the ease for a woven version. :)

  9. Sølvi October 20, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Gorgeous! Love the lace – and I am a big fan of kimono sleeves as well. great job! :-)

  10. lsaspacey October 20, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Wow, that top looks great (have to check out that tutorial), your hair looks fantastic, and your smile in the first pic is gorgeous! Congrats on finishing item #3, we are now even. What are you making next?

  11. Brumby October 20, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Oh I love this, a cream lace tee is on my summer wardrobe list too, was thinking of doing it Colette Macaroon style underlining.. You hair does look great, looks like you have cut and colored it, but now I think about it, possibly the only time we’ve seen it down??? How is life over there? I wish you would start using Twitter so we could chat!!

    • lazystitcher October 31, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      See, I think I’m just way too boring for twitter, but if we can use it to chat I might just give it a go :-)

  12. Law October 20, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    This is such a pretty top. I’m loving the lace overlaid look at the mo

  13. Kris October 21, 2011 at 6:07 am #

    I love it! BRB trying to copy you now… :) (Though with my schedule, it could take months before I have a finished garment!)

  14. Cathy October 30, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    What a fabulous idea – and you executed it beautifully.

  15. sallie November 3, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    You are so gorgeous in your lace top! It looks like such a classic piece!

  16. Natalie November 9, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Since you left a comment on my blog I’ve been so rapt with yours! And this post in particular had me wanting to make a lace tshirt, finally today I found some lace and bought it :D

    • lazystitcher November 9, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Awesome, can’t wait to see it!
      p.s. loved the awesome interview on xojane!

  17. Kathryn May 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    This is gorgeous! I love the white lace with the underlay, I’d love to try something like this with a different colour lining fabric. I haven’t tried a kimono sleeve yet so thank you for the link to the tutorial – and for your step-by-step to underlining the lace!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Sew Grateful Dress: Vintage Simplicity 4908 « Lazy Stitching - December 6, 2011

    [...] bodice, so I grabbed my Sewaholic Pendrell blouse. Next the kimono sleeves, which came from the white lace tee I made a few weeks ago.  I fit the pendrell pieces under the bust (it’s usually a loose [...]

  2. Sunshine + Storm Clouds « Lazy Stitching - December 14, 2011

    [...] fabric is a lovely sunny mustard poly and the lace yoke is a scrap left over from my white lace tee. I’m kicking myself for not buying more of it as it’s really lovely to handle and [...]

  3. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    [...] First Column (top to bottom): 2 Double-knit Jennys, Brumby-Blue Dress, Sew Grateful Dress, White Lace Tee. [...]

  4. The Toast Tunic « Lazy Stitching - January 2, 2012

    [...] kimono-sleeved tunic dresses which they do in several fabrics, so it was a natural leap from my kimono-sleeved sorbetto to this dress. I widened the neckline, added cuffs and lengthened it straight [...]

  5. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    [...] The Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace Tee [...]

  6. The Toast Tunic | Lazy Stitching - April 25, 2012

    [...] kimono-sleeved tunic dresses which they do in several fabrics, so it was a natural leap from my kimono-sleeved sorbetto to this dress. I widened the neckline, added cuffs and lengthened it straight [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

