Sew-free Sunday + Walthamstow Market

6 Nov

Hey guys,

I’ve decided to start collecting all the random things I come across when I’m procrastinating instead of sewing in a weekly post. Some are sewing related and some are just random.

Welcome to Sew-free Sunday.

This week:

  • I have three works in progress but I wasn’t feeling inspired by any of them this week so I thought I’d just pop up toWalthamstow Market for a little inspiration.

General malaise + fantastic deals = a whopping shoppers high.

When I eventually came to on the Victoria Line train, I was swamped by 26 metres of fabric and only a hazy recollection of parting with £60. I may have needed a very strong cup of tea and a lie down when I got home.

Don’t get me wrong the deals are unbelievable, it’s just that I forgot for a moment I’m unemployed and as such should be much better behaved.

Please make me feel better and tell me I’m not the only one this happens to.

  • If you’re ever having a bad-body image day, the ladies over at xojane.com never fail to cheer me up and put things in perspective with their frankness and complete lack of boundaries. Sample writing: “Most shirts give the general appearance that my back mounds are being lovingly cradled by the fabric, like a very low and unsexy pair of back breasts.” (P.s. the lovely Mena from sew weekly sometimes pops up as a contributor, too).
  • Other things that make me happy… Babies! A second cousin came over yesterday and much time was spend baby cuddling. Biological programming or no, holding a baby makes my soul feel good.
  • On body image, this one is for anyone who thinks losing weight will be the answer to happiness (hint: that used to be me). I was looking through some old photos on Mum’s computer and I found this one from 2004.

This is at my smallest adult weight but to my eyes I look awful. I see the blankness and exhaustion around my eyes and the tension in my body and when I see photos from this period I just remember how unhappy I was. The pounds don’t take your problems with them.

Heavier, but happier two years later in Tonga, although to be fair, it’s scientifically impossible to be unhappy whilst drinking a cocktail from a coconut. Laborious research has proven it.

  • Neither can one be unhappy whilst watching jello jiggle.

Get your jelly on – LADY IN RED from Billy Law on Vimeo.

Billy Law made 30 desserts in a cone shaped jello mold in October for Breast Cancer awareness and each was put to the jiggle test.

  • Lastly I’ve been feeling a little homesick, so this slice of kiwi humour (albeit addressing a serious topic) and accents hit just the right spot.

So there you have it. My advice this week: shop mindfully, give yourself a break, drink cocktails from tropical fruit, hold babies, make jello + don’t drive drunk.

xo Alana.

10 Responses to “Sew-free Sunday + Walthamstow Market”

  1. Amy November 7, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    You’re right that there is a perception among many people that if you’re thin, you’re somehow happier or better off than those who aren’t.

    Why are people so concerned with how much others weigh?

    I’ve had the experience where people will comment on my weight unasked. To some, I’m too skinny and to others, I’m lucky and don’t have anything to worry about. It’s frustrating that I have to defend my weight.

    • lazystitcher November 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      People are so odd, aren’t they!

  2. Jane November 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I love all your advice Alana, your last sentence made me smile! Really interesting post and I just have to say that drinking a cocktail from a coconut or not, the second photo is WAY better than the first. In the second photo you’re glowing, in the first you’re not.
    As an aside, you looked gorgeous to me when I met you.
    Good luck with the keeping fit – I’m currently undertaking something similar and can now run for 25 minutes without stopping – for me a MAMMOTH achievement and far more satisfying than losing weight. x

    • lazystitcher November 9, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      I am so very jealous of your running skills! I had a session with a trainer yesterday and I thought my lungs would collapse just walking on an incline for 15 minutes! x

  3. Sølvi November 9, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Loving this post! It really made me smile! :-)

    • Kim November 12, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      I think you are beautiful either way! I agree though, I’ve struggled with my weight all my life. I decided I wanted to get healthier this summer so I did the Couch to 5K running program. I didn’t even care if I lost weight or not. I just wanted to feel better and I do!!! Go slow and steady and before your know if you will be able to do a lot more than 15 minutes on an incline.

  4. Nikki November 19, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    You should have had a cocktail today!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Palette Challenge: Double-knit Pencil Skirt, Two Ways « Lazy Stitching - December 9, 2011

    […] found the fabric during this trip to Walthamstow market for £2.20/metre from Classic Textiles which is a stupidly good […]

  2. Working Girl: Pure Wool Pencil Skirt « Lazy Stitching - January 29, 2012

    […] like Burdastyle’s Jenny this was a very fast make. The fabric is 100% pure wool bought in this stash from Walthamstow Market for £5/m and the lining from the same place for £1.50/m. The lining is my […]

  3. Working Girl: Pure Wool Pencil Skirt » Lazy Stitching - February 3, 2012

    […] like Burdastyle’s Jenny this was a very fast make. The fabric is 100% pure wool bought in this stash from Walthamstow Market for £5/m and the lining from the same place for £1.50/m. The lining is my […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

