Fall Challenge: The Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto

11 Nov

I love this fabric but it is entirely unsuited to the season. A super light weight silk cotton, I purchased it in June with the intent of making a light and floaty summer top. When you see the fabric up-close you can tell the cotton thread is the warp and is a more maroony red than the silk which runs across the weft and is more a burnt orange so it’s nice and breathable with a saturated colour.

The shop I bought it from was my local fabric store in Onehunga and is an Auckland legend. Antique Fabric and Lace have the self-proclaimed “largest range of Beaded Sequin Motifs in the world”. Like a museum they only display a small proportion of their collection at a time and still check out the walls.

I can’t even explain the mix of things you can find here, just look closely at the pictures and you’ll get the idea.

But back to the top…

It’s the trusty Colette Sorbetto pattern, of course, with some alterations.

I split the front and back pieces in half horizontally then slashed the bottom piece in four places from the hem to the stitching line and spread them each an inch apart. The fabric has a nice balance of drape and body so I wanted almost a circle skirt effect. The gaps were filled with tissue and seam allowance added to the midriff top and bottom.

I only had 1.5m of the fabric but it’s quite sheer so I was very lucky to eck out an extra layer for the top of the bodice, the rest is finished with bias strips.

Unfortunately when I tried it on it felt too shapeless and it was too late to add more darts. Instead, I added two black ribbon ties under the bust where a waistline dart would form and when they’re tied they produce  just the right shape.

So there it is, and I think I may be in denial about the cold weather. Still, with a cardigan I think it will still get some wear… silk is warm right?

(Braving the cold)

17 Responses to “Fall Challenge: The Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto”

  1. Brumby November 11, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Love the colour, it very pretty. I wish I could get over my phobia of my upper arms and crank these out, they simple, practical and pretty. Is this the new hair colour too? It looks darker than usual but still very natural so hard to tell…

  2. EmilyKate November 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Oh its so lovely! I’d really like to make one like it….

    • Shay November 12, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Beautiful top! Just at a shrug and you are seasonally ready!

  3. Lakaribane November 13, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Your crazy to stand outside says the island girl. But that fabric sounds delicious, great color on you and love the alterations!!!

  4. Sigrid November 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    pretty!

  5. Suzie November 15, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Ooo – that is a really cute and clever alteration to the Sorbetto, love it!
    Love the new blog background too :)

  6. Sølvi November 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Lovely! Very clever with the ties, and the color is gorgeous! Layer it with a silk/wool-blend vest underneath and you´ll stay nice and warm all through the winter. :-)

  7. Steph November 19, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I was drooling over your top on the meet up! I’m glad you’ve shown us how you did it (subtext-copy it mercilessly) x

  8. Michelle November 20, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I think it’s gorgeous, and yes, a black cardi would be perfect for the colder temps!

    I like your variation for the “skirt” part of the top. A really nice addition!

  9. Seraphinalina November 20, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    Lovely top. I actually just made my first sorbetto tonight and it too is rather seasonally inappropriate. I’m sure it will get some wear with a little cardigan or under a jacket. I love your version with the ties, well done.

  10. tinygoldenpins November 22, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    But…isn’t it summer where you are? I’m so confused because as the leaves fall here and the world looks grim and gray, I like to think that it’s summer elsewhere….

    • lazystitcher November 22, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      Haha… if I was at home you’d be write but I’m living in London at the moment so I’m trying to adjust :)

  11. Stephanie November 30, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Love, love, love your sorbetto variation! Must try this!

    • Monica June 24, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      This really turned out cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    [...] Column (top to bottom): Pendrell, Silk Sorbetto, English Summer [...]

  2. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    [...] The Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace Tee [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

