Sunshine + Storm Clouds

14 Dec

Ah, the infamous hanger shot; often a sign things have gone horribly wrong.

This is the blouse pattern from the new Burda Style Book. It’s a gorgeous pattern and obviously it’s been well tested as they show a dozen examples from sewn around the world.

 

Sadly somewhere in my alterations I screwed up and it looks dreadful on me. The back fits great but the front is just a horrible ill-fitting mess.

The fabric is a lovely sunny mustard poly and the lace yoke is a scrap left over from my white lace tee. I’m kicking myself for not buying more of it as it’s really lovely to handle and according to the salesman it takes dye well too. Coincidently, it seems Toast must have got their hands on a few bolts because they’ve used this exact lace to make this dress (I couldn’t find a close-up of it but I inspected it in the shop) selling for a whopping £159. I think I paid £4.50 per metre.

So bummed.

18 Responses to “Sunshine + Storm Clouds”

  1. mujerboricua December 14, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    What a bummer. The color and fabric combo look really nice. When you’re on a sewing roll there will be speed bumps, unfortunately. Will you try making the blouse again? It’s a nice looking blouse. I have the handbook and was wondering if it should be my first make from it.

    • lazystitcher December 16, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

      I’d definitely like to give it another go – and I’m pretty sure it was my mistake bt next time I’ll use sewaholic’s pendrell as the base for the front pieces. I’d love to see other peoples versions :)

  2. Elizabeth December 14, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    What a disappointment since it looks beautiful. Put it in the magic closet. Maybe after some time it will “fit” better or you will be able to alter it.

    • lazystitcher December 16, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      OK, now where can I get me one of those! ;-)

  3. Andrea December 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Ah, I really like it. It looks like it’s put together well! Sorry it didn’t work out for you. I have an ever-growing pile of “not quite right” or “oops my pinking shears slipped” handmade garments that make me so upset when I think about it. Keep trudgin’.

  4. Brumby December 14, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    It’s not just their instructions which are sometimes a little off, perhaps defaulting to self blame is not a fair assumption? In my experience with Burdastyle patterns, some more rigorous pattern testing prior to hitting the market probably would not go astray.

    • lazystitcher December 16, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      Hehe… very true but this one is more my math skills I think.

  5. liza jane December 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Oh that’s so funny! I just edited a photo of a pair of trousers I made (on a hanger) with the word “fail!” right over the top of it, too.
    Too bad it doesn’t work because the idea is just lovely. I agree about putting it in the “magic closet” for a while. You never know…

  6. prttynpnk December 14, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    I just cut out this pattern- I loved the lines so much..where do you think it went astray? It looks like such a lovely fabric combination. To the magic closet!

    • lazystitcher December 16, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Ooo… I’m really interested in how it goes… I did the FBA when I was tired and skipped the muslin so I think I was overzealous in lowering the bust point. Everywhere else is great but the front is just awkward. :)

  7. rachel December 14, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Bummer! It is a lovely fabric combo. But your Xmas Macaron is perfect – I really love your altered sleeves.

  8. Stephanie December 14, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Sadness! But maybe your lovely blouse will make a nice Christmas present for one of your friends or family!

  9. Mary December 16, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    What a shame! That color yellow is one of my favorites and the lace is absolutely lovely. It would have been gorgeous, had it worked it out alright. Thanks for posting the summary anyway, Alana. I’ve been looking at that pattern myself, but the thought of trying to alter it has been a bit daunting. My pattern curiosity is now quickly dwindling.

    • lazystitcher December 16, 2011 at 11:59 am #

      oh the patterns lovely but I think next time I’d use the pendrell blouse as the base for the front pieces… :)

  10. Alessa December 20, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    The lace is lovely and the mustard color so pretty! I’m sorry it doesn’t fit well, it looks very cute on the hanger!

  11. delusionsofgrandeur January 10, 2012 at 4:13 am #

    I made the BurdaStyle blouse too and mine was a fail as well. I want to try it again, but with cotton lawn or batiste (I used cotton shirting in a hideous fuchsia color the first time). The sleeves were the biggest disappointment for me. I hate the the little puff at the shoulder. Next time, I will change the sleeves and lower the slit at the neckline.

    i do love the mustard color. It’s a lovely shirt even if it didn’t turn out the way you wanted.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Stitching - December 23, 2011

    […] Column (top to bottom): Sunshine Blouse (fail), Christmas Macaron, Colour-blocked […]

  2. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    […] Toast Tunic // The Christmas Macaroon // The Burda Blouse // The Brumby-blue […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

