2011 Reflections

23 Dec

End to another crazy year and time for some silly reflection!

Here are a few statistics and superlatives.

Whether it’s people looking for fancy dress costumes or the popularity of Simplicity 2692, The Mermaid Dress was the most viewed post for the second year in a row.

The piece I’ve worn to death over the summer has been this Sloppy Striped Sorbetto. With leggings around the house or with skinny jeans and a cardigan something about those black and white stripes just works with everything.

Speaking of Colette Pattern’s Sorbetto… here’s 5 more. Definitely my most used pattern. I loved the opportunity to experiment with pattern alterations off of the basic block.

The post with the most comments was this experiment in drawing a personalised croquis from the Colette Sewing Handbook. I’m really interested in seeing who else has done this exercise – maybe we can start a croquis gallery (maybe anonymous if preferred). It could be linked with different fitting adjustments, e.g. different examples of sway back. Just throwing it out there.

Hmm, I’m not sure which random google algorithm lead the most amount of people here using the term “elbise çizimleri”. Google translate tells me it is Turkish for “dress drawing”, so hoşgeldiniz to any readers from Turkey.  Interestingly also in the top 10 are kıyafet çizimleri (costume drawing), dress drawings, drawings of dresses.

523 people found their way onto this post via wordpress and were bitterly dissapointed to find a post on Burda Magazine’s questionable styling after I accidentally used the term n * k e d lady.

I was absent for the first few months of the year due to travel for work and procrastination over sorting a proper sewing space. However, one good thing that came out of it is this tutorial on how to re-cover an office chair.

In which I talk on video (Pendrell Blouse Part one + two)

Ugghh, no one should ever watch themselves on video.

The most incoming links this year came from the superb Snug Bug. Here’s a big bouquet to say thanks, Patty!

Thank You flowers to Amy from Sewing Through the Motions and Karen from Did You Make That? for the vintage patterns and lucky dip I won in your give-aways this year.

My absolute favourite sewing moments this year have been meeting up with lots of lovely ladies for cocktails, shopping and, of course, stitching. It’s been just awesome.

So there it is 2011, done and dusted. Here’s to a smoother 2012!

ROUND-UP

First Column (top to bottom): 2 Double-knit Jennys, Brumby-Blue Dress, Sew Grateful Dress, White Lace Tee.

Second Column (top to bottom): Sunshine Blouse (fail), Christmas Macaron, Colour-blocked Blouse.

Third Column (top to bottom): Floral Skirt, Liberty Tee, Minoru Sweater Dress.

Fourth Column (top to bottom): Pendrell, Silk Sorbetto, English Summer Sorbetto.

Last Column (top to bottom): Colette Rooibos, Striped Sorbetto, Ugly Pants.

2010 Round-Up.

Lastly but by far not leastly, thanks to all of you for your support this year!

17 Responses to “2011 Reflections”

  1. Louise December 23, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I’ve only recently found you but looking at what you’ve done this last year I’m looking forward to your contributions next year!

  2. Seraphinalina December 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    What a great overview! I wasn’t here to read most of the year, but it’s a great summary of what’s gone on. I think I found you looking for Sorbetto tips, rather tame compared to the Burda lady! I’m looking forward to seeing what 2012 brings.

  3. Nikki December 23, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    What a collection! Love the overview. You’ve had a busy year! Love the mermaid dress though and can see why it’s top!

  4. Lizz @ A Good Wardrobe December 23, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    As a new reader, I really enjoyed this post! Looking forward to reading more from you in 2012!

  5. mujerboricua December 23, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Thanks for being such an inspiring blogger, sewist and writer! I loved following along.

    Happy holidays!

  6. didyoumakethat December 23, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Aw! I think this is my favourite end-of-year round up. Thanks for the shout out! I’ve loved getting to know you and look forward to seeing more of your creations – and meeting again.

  7. jen December 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Such a good recap, I was laughing pretty hard by the time I got to “Weirdest Traffic Blip” + the ribbons are great. Can’t wait to see what you have planned for 2012. Happiest Holidays to you!

  8. Debi December 24, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    Fabulous end of year round-up! I am going to totally do the office chair make-over–I had somehow missed that post!! I can’t wait to meet-up in the New Year!!!

  9. Heather December 24, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    Love the recap and seeing what you’ve sewn this year! Excited to see what 2012 brings!

  10. ReadyThreadSew December 24, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    I am bookmarking this just so that I can try to work out how you managed to do such wonderful photo montages! I only recently discovered your blog and I love what you sew. Looking forward to 2012.

  11. Law December 24, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Great post Alana!

    It inspired me to see how people were finding their way to my site. One google search in which led people to me was “extreme denim close up”, who would search for that?! Extreme denim lovers maybe.

    Can’t wait to see what you make in 2012, and I hope England has been treating you well.

    x

  12. Pauline Kelly December 26, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I just love your blog. Your beautiful mermaid dress was visited by me many times this year as I think you look stunning in it. Your sizing is somewhat similar to mine so i love how your garments turn out. And thankyou for putting your body tracings onto your blog. I also have the Collete book but seeing someone else doing it has made so much more sense for me now. keep it going. Love your work.

  13. Alessa December 26, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    :D What a cool round-up! Looks like a cool and successful year. Happy Stitching in 2012!

  14. sunnyb64 December 27, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    I just found you this year, too! I have to say, this is one of the more fun round-up posts that I’ve read so far.

  15. liza jane December 28, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Ah, I love this! The weirdest traffic blip is hilarious. Mine is people searching for, er, “c r * t c h l e s s riding pants” and ending up on my post about making leggings (hope that little trick works here, too!) Love this year end review!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011: Looking back | SEWN - December 27, 2011

    [...] this year I am going to shamelessly copy Alana at Lazy Stitching and focus on pictures, on what I made and learned and on the memories made.  I just loved her [...]

  2. Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap « Lazy Stitching - January 3, 2012

    [...] The colours were quite a departure from my previous wardrobe which was dominated by blues and greys and other muted shades. I was only able to bring 20 kgs of luggage to the UK so it was a fresh start to my wardrobe. You can see the change below – the photos on the left are from Self-Stitched September 2010 and on the right is everything I made in 2011. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

