Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap

3 Jan

With the end of the year also came my self-imposed deadline for the Colette Patterns Fall Palette Challenge and whilst I barely completed half of the original plan, I still consider it a big success.

It all kicked off with the collection of inspiration images on a pinterest board. These formed the basis for a fall colour palette. I loved the changing leaves against smokey blue skies.

The colours were quite a departure from my previous wardrobe which was dominated by blues and greys and other muted shades. I was only able to bring 20 kgs of luggage to the UK so it was a fresh start to my wardrobe. You can see the change below – the photos on the left are from Self-Stitched September 2010 and on the right is everything I made in 2011.

In terms of garments I started with a very limited wardrobe so it was expanding on the basics.

It was fun to start experimenting with croquis, which have now developed into my own mini-me version.

Here are the successfully completed garments:

The Seasonally Inappropriate Sorbetto // The Colour-blocked Blouse // Double-knit Jenny Skirt // Linen Rooibos Dress // White Lace Tee

And the items that didn’t get made:

The Pants: I’m part way through the fitting process with both the Colette Clovers and the Wide-Leg Pants but as anyone who’s attempted pants knows – it’s a long and frustrating process. So right now, we are on a break.

The knit top: I found it was cheaper and easier to just buy one – I’m not trying to re-invent the wheel ;)

The blazer: This is about 80% done – it just wasn’t inspiring me.

The dresses: Are still on the cards at some point this year but they’re cross seasonal so it doesn’t matter if I put them off.

The biggest thing I realised is that I need to feel motivated in order to sew. I steadfastly refuse to let it become a chore or something I have to force myself into. The result is that the less exciting items got pushed to the back of the list. It’s something I need to think on how to remedy.

Still, the palette worked well which is why I still consider the challenge a success. Most of the garments I sewed that weren’t part of the original plan were still consistent with the palette.

The Toast Tunic // The Christmas Macaroon // The Burda Blouse // The Brumby-blue Dress

I’ll definitely take part in the Spring Challenge when it rolls around.

My new colourful wardrobe.

6 Responses to “Colette Fall Palette Challenge Wrap”

  1. ms. modiste January 3, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    “I steadfastly refuse to let it become a chore or something I have to force myself into. The result is that the less exciting items got pushed to the back of the list. It’s something I need to think on how to remedy.”

    I think you answered your own question, sort of. If you currently feel that you have to force yourself to work on less exciting items, I suppose your choices are to A) figure out a way to get excited about them or B) rethink why you’re sewing those items. For myself, I’ve so far avoided projects that I foresee being more frustrating than fun (i.e. jackets) and I don’t think I’ll ever venture into the world of basics (i.e. underwear, knit camis/tanks, etc) because I’d just rather devote my limited sewing time to something that excites me more! But, I’m not ruling out the possibility that eventually the idea of sewing my own basics will excite me for other reasons entirely (i.e. becoming less reliant on overseas labour, becoming more self-reliant for basic things in my life, etc), or that daunting projects will come more into reach and the fun will outweigh the frustration. It’s tricky.

    I suppose all of that is long-winded and obvious, but I think we can all fall easily into the trap of feeling as if we “should” be making certain things… when in truth the only things you should be making are the things you enjoy making! It is a hobby, after all.

  2. Brumby January 4, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Love seeing the colours if your posts, it one thing I need to insert more of in more wardrobe, but I have tended to favour the safer colours so that they work with existing items in my wardrobe. I have plans to remedy this in the not too distant future though, so I am okay with that.

    Perhaps it is not necessarily the projects that aren’t exciting you so much as it is the thought of spending time doing something that may not work? I know when I am feeling a bit despondent, or unsettled I turn to projects that I know are fail proof, or I believe will be so. When I am hating work for example, the thought of fitting anything makes me ill, I just want a sure fire ‘promise you this will work and look great’ kind of pattern…

  3. K-Line January 4, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    OMG – I love all of your croquis and those basics look great. I want to do a palette but I’m not quite there. Too many things on the go to do everything.

  4. Sølvi January 4, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I´m rubbish at finishing things, like hemming, buttons etc., but one way I´ve found to trick myself into doing those kinds of things is to actually think about the amount of time it´ll take. For the most part it´s just a few minutes, and that can trick me into doing it. If it´s a bigger project that´s being put on hold (like lining a jacket or something), I try to imagine all the steps of the progress, this helps me see the end more clearly as well!

    I love your fall-sewing round-up, I really think you have a gorgeous style that shines through in your sewing projects.Keep up the good work! :-)

  5. Heather January 5, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    I think your palette is beautiful and I loved seeing the things you made!

  6. Chris January 6, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    Love how you illustrated your wardrobe plan!

    I’m trying to do one for summer – just having a hard time wrapping my mind around it. But I do want a “well curated” wardrobe (as someone wisely said) – so, I will keep trying to make it all come together. It’s not easy, but it’s fun.
    :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

