Make do and mend

19 Jul

Look what I found in the centrefold of the July/August frankie magazine – a “Make do and mend” poster by Clare Owen (Check out more of her beautiful illustrations on her site). This will have to go on the wall beside my sewing (ahem… dining) table.

I’ve had two great magazines to pour over this week. The Australian frankie has some cute articles.

How to make musk sticks.

Handkerchief collection.

Vintage storybook coasters.

The other magazine came in the parcel from Mum and Dad. It is the UK produced Selvedge. It has a art/sewing/craft focus. Here’s some that caught my eye.

Jane Austen’s needlework.

How to make pillows from print fabric.

Wisdom for new graduates. (I am not a graduate of any kind… I just like the embroidery).

P.s. Here’s how I ended up wearing the blouse to work today.


6 Responses to “Make do and mend”

  1. Sewsister July 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    I love your jumper with that top!

    • thislightgetsin July 19, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a little school girlish but I enjoyed wearing it. 🙂

  2. Camelia Crinoline July 20, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    I’m glad someone else uses their dining table as their sewing table. Frankie magazine looks so cute.
    The pinafore and blouse combo looks lovely.

    • thislightgetsin July 21, 2010 at 12:23 am #

      Yip – I live by myself so I’d just feel silly setting the table for one. I’m much more productive with sewing machines on it 🙂

  3. Kat September 2, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    that top looks really cute under that dress! oh by the way – hello – i’m a new reader. Just found your blog via the self stitched september flickr group

    • lazystitcher September 2, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

      Thank you so much! I think we may be kindred spirits – I just clicked over to your blog and saw the beautiful Peony pictures, they’re one of my favourite flowers.

Leave a Reply

