Trench Coat Prep

4 Aug

I snuck out at lunch yesterday and grabbed fabric for my next project – the LV inspired Trench Coat.

The military green poplin was only $4.99 per metre. Thank goodness, as I needed 5.2m of it.

The lining is a matte satin for $13 per metre and I’m obsessed with it. It’s so soft and I adore the colours and the print. It reminds me of this super pretty floral and army green combination from Rebecca Taylor.

Rebecca Taylor

My next big decision is which of the design elements of McCall’s 5525, I should include as there are plenty of options.

I definitely want the length of E, but I’m tossing up whether to do the long sleeves or use the ones from view D which are bracelet length and flare out a little. They’re closer to the Louis Vuitton inspiration picture, but I wonder if the long sleeves are more user friendly.

Louis Vuitton - Resort 2011

… and then there’s all the tabs and buttons and bits and bobs too!

(Designer photos are via style.com)


5 Responses to “Trench Coat Prep”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TGIF « Lazy Stitching - August 6, 2010

    […] Trench-coat-a-go-go: No promises but hopefully I can get this done by Sunday night […]

  2. Trench Progress « Lazy Stitching - August 9, 2010

    […] highly underestimated the pining and cutting involved in this project – so this took all weekend and I’m not even including all the detailing. Lesson […]

  3. TGIF « Lazy Stitching - August 21, 2010

    […] cow, will someone make me finish the trench […]

  4. TGIF « Lazy Stitching - August 28, 2010

    […] was determined not to need the trench on the list for another week so I’m stitching on the last buttons as we speak and will take […]

  5. Trench Accomplished: McCall’s 5525 « Lazy Stitching - August 29, 2010

    […] progress posts can be found here, here, here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

