(Shameful) Trench Progress (iii) + Pencil Skirt Distractions

18 Aug

Yes this shoulder pad is the entire extent of my work on the trench coat since my last post and I’m starting to worry.

This whole project goes against my basic temperament – I’m lazy and impatient and once a project takes more than a week my interest rapidly starts to drop. A trench coat however is all about the details; tabs, epaulettes, yokes and topstitching all take time and attention.

Still I’m determined to get it finished – just the lining and button/holes to go.

Meanwhile, I’m distracting myself by participating in The Cupcake Goddess’ Pencil Skirt Sewalong. I’m going to try and use burda style’s Jenny skirt but unfortunately it’s only available up to a size 44 (Equivalent size 16) which means not only is it my first attempt at a downloaded burda style pattern but also my first go at grading a pattern up by 6 inches.

The good news however, is that I emailed Sunni from the Cupcake Goddess and she got back to me so quickly with advice and a link to this article, because she is awesome!

I’ve made a start on the back panel piece, so now it looks like this:

Hopefully, I can catchup to the muslin stage tomorrow. Meanwhile if you want to join in or if you just want some wicked advice on fitting a pencil skirt you can find the Cupcake Goddess’ resources post and first lesson here.

And if you just want to eye up some pretty Jenny’s from two of my other favourite blogs here you go, check out Gertie’s Emma Pilsbury version and Stitchywitches pretty floral one.

3 Responses to “(Shameful) Trench Progress (iii) + Pencil Skirt Distractions”

  1. Angela August 18, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Great job so far! Hehe… keep pushing through the trenchcoat… you’ll be so proud and happy afterwards. 🙂

  2. rachel August 18, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    The trench is going to look awesome when its done – can’t wait to see it! And can’t wait to see the Jenny too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trench Accomplished: McCall’s 5525 « Lazy Stitching - August 29, 2010

    […] Previous progress posts can be found here, here, here, here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

