SSS Day Two: Ceramic Fuses and Dressing in the Dark.

2 Sep

Okay, so I hadn’t planned on posting today but I learned a new skill and I’m a little giddy from the satisfaction of it all.

Warning: this is not a sewing post so I will not be offended at all if you skip it 🙂

After the debacle of the lights not working last night, I looked again in the cold light of day and discovered my fuse box has a mishmash of fuses with switches and two old school ceramic ones which I never even knew existed (Thank you, Brumby, for putting me on to that). And boy what a lovely surprise they were – seriously look at that beautiful tiki embossed on the front.

I skipped out of work early and took the fuse with me down to the local Mitre 10 where a lovely old gent showed me the wire I needed and explained exactly how to do it and off I went.

First I removed the broken old fuse wire from each end of the holder.

Then threaded the new 5Amp wire through the hole in the centre block.

I wrapped each end between the clampy bit (the copper bits on the left in technical terms) not letting it touch the opposite copper piece.

Ta da!

All that was left was to push it back into the fuse box and then there was light once more. Every bit as satisfying as the first time I learned how to insert an invisible zipper.

So, being that I’m posting anyway, here’s what I threw on in the dark this morning for Self-Stitched-September Day Two.

Self-stitched Skirt: Butterick 4461

Cardigan: Glassons

Tights: We Love Colours

6 Responses to “SSS Day Two: Ceramic Fuses and Dressing in the Dark.”

  1. laurwyn September 2, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    It is such a nice basic, a black skirt! Great choice! And I LOVE your tights!

  2. Brumby September 2, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Yah – let there be light! Glad to be able to help!

  3. sabrinaClementine September 3, 2010 at 2:37 am #

    Look at you, fixing up electrical equipment! Hehe…I don’t blame you for feeling giddy, I need to learn such skills myself!

    It feels so odd for me to see you wearing tights and long sleeves…it’s so hot here! lol

    • lazystitcher September 3, 2010 at 5:20 am #

      I know! It’s not too bad temperature wise but a wee way to go till springs in full swing. I’ve spent the last three months jealous of everyone’s summery projects but at least now I have lots of inspiration as it gets warmer down here 🙂

  4. TracyKM September 3, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    I just starting reading your blog, but if you own the house, didn’t you have a home inspection? A panel like that would certainly be a concern, esp. with your insurance company. We’ve passed up houses with aluminum wiring and won’t even go look at one with knob and tube even though I love old houses.
    But I’ve got to say, the ceramic fuse IS a beauty!

    • lazystitcher September 3, 2010 at 5:30 am #

      Hey Tracy, thanks for reading. No, I don’t own the place – it’s just a rental and the house is probably around 100 years old. There are a lot of places like this in Auckland, where I live and they have benefits and drawbacks. Villas like these have beautiful native timber floorboards, 12 foot ceilings and generally a bay window and a sash one like I have in the bedroom. Unfortunately the drawbacks are, like you say, unexpected wiring plus like zero insulation and no central heating. Although that’s common in most New Zealand houses. I spent a year living in Vancouver and I packed a bunch of wool sweaters thinking it’d be so cold but with the central heating we could wear t-shirts all through winter inside and my down jacket was plenty warm enough outside so I never wore them!

Leave a Reply

