Sucky day to be in New Zealand

4 Sep

Photo from Colin cross via NZherald.co.nz

A magnitude 7.1 earthquake hit Christchurch in the South Island early this morning causing huge damage across the entire city but fortunately, as far as is known so far, no loss of life.

And news has just broken, that a plane has crashed this afternoon in Fox Glacier, on the South Island’s West Coast, killing all nine people on board.

Crappy things that just suck. If you can, spare a moment to send a prayer (if that’s your thing) or good thoughts (more my speed) their way.

The company I work for has 4 stores in Christchurch and although I’m based in Auckland, I visit these guys several times a year. One store is in a mall and has reportedly flooded due to pipe breaking on the upper level and three are in the cordoned off region of the central city and from what we have heard the stores and, much more importantly, the people who work there are okay aside from damaged property.

This is gonna be a long one to sort out.

5 Responses to “Sucky day to be in New Zealand”

  1. Rose in SV September 4, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    My thoughts are with you. I’m in the San Francisco Bay area and I remember the Loma Prieta Earthquake in 1989. It was scary while it happened and shocking to see the results and effects afterwards. I hope that you and your family and friends are okay.

    Rose in SV

    • lazystitcher September 4, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Hey Rose – I’m up in the North Island so we were luck and it didn’t reach this far up but there are several fellow sewing bloggers down there (like Brumby and Camelia Crinoline) who have undoubtedly been effected so I’m sure they’ll appreciate your thoughts.
      The cell phone companies have asked people not to use their phones unless absolutely necessary so I haven’t talked to my lovely colleagues yet but I know how damn resourceful they are so I’m sure they will be fine.

  2. laurwyn September 4, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    My thoughts are with you too… Why is it always the nicest places that get that kind of catastrophes…

  3. Kat September 5, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Sending loads of positive vibes that way! My cousin lives in Christchurch and we just got word from him this morning that he is okay. He said the town is an absolute mess and there is heaps of flooding. Its crazy! I’ll be sending as much love and positive vibes as possible their way till it gets better!

  4. Tasia September 10, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Sorry to hear – sending good thoughts!! Hope your colleagues are all right.

Leave a Reply

