Pure Bribery

6 Sep

Ever since my little sewing obsession was re-ignited by people like thisthisthis, this, and this, and all those on the blog-roll to your right, it’s lead to a couple of sizeable issues in my life.

I live alone, so there’s no-one to notice when I get a little out of control and come back from spotlight with almost 30 metres of fabric or the fact that I still haven’t tidied out my hallway 3 months after I said I would do it.

My budget and my house are beggining for a little more self-control but my inner 6-year-old sees a pretty satin and just goes “oooooo… SHINY! Must BUY it!”

So I have resorted to bribery of said 6-year-old.

I wrote a mamouth list of everything that I want to get done around the house, cut it up and taped each task to a $5 note.

I gave myself a $200 sewing budget for the month (to include the fabric for Gertie’s Lady Grey Coat Sew-along) and now to earn it I need to complete the different chores around the place, $5 at a time.

The chores are all in my button tin, and as they are completed they get put into my little envelope of sewing mad-money and that is all I am allowed to spend.

It might sound a little imature but me and the 6-year-old roll like that so we’re all good.

12 Responses to “Pure Bribery”

  1. sabrinaClementine September 6, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    haha….it sounds like a BRILLIANT plan! (Seriously). Oh, and I am going to have to blame/thank (still can’t decide which) for turning me onto all those great sewing bloggers! For some reason in all my PF blog-following I hadn’t run into the sewing world before that!

  2. Brumby September 6, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    That is such a clever idea! I have a halt on all spending except home renovations at the moment but am trying to think of ways to make this work for me too! I think we are so used to swiping a card and not really thinking about what we spend that cold hard cash is often a great reality to keep us in check in general.

  3. Kat September 6, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    that is such a smart idea! Unfortunately, I have someone that notices all my fabric purchases so I have no need for such a system.

  4. lsaspacey September 6, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Now, that is a great idea! I need to do that too.

  5. stitchywitch September 6, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    But you know? That’s a good idea. I might have to steal it, so that my husband can quit complaining that the vacuuming (one of my chores) never gets done!

  6. Sølvi September 6, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Hahahahaha. That is so funny! And probably very smart too.My way of handeling my chores are a little smart program for my computer called Things. It´s a program with check lists and every time I check off anything I feel very satisfied. Childish, but efficient!

  7. Suzie September 6, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Ha ha ha – BRILLIANT idea! Why have I never thought of that before?! I may be putting this into practise very soon!!

  8. Kihli September 7, 2010 at 1:07 am #

    This is a great idea! I will keep it in my mind, I’m sure I can use it as well some day!

  9. LaKaribane September 7, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    I love it! Great idea. Seriously!

  10. Tasia September 10, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    What a great idea! I usually write myself notes on my credit card saying ‘Do you really NEED it?’ but attaching real money to tasks is so much better!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS: Day Ten + TGIF « Lazy Stitching - September 10, 2010

    […] I need to earn myself some mad-money. Gertie’s already talking muslins on the Lady Grey Sew Along and I don’t even have a […]

  2. SSS: Days Fifteen + Sixteen + Seventeen + Eighteen « Lazy Stitching - September 18, 2010

    […] working hard for the (sewing stash) money with spring cleaning today so I’m actually wearing this: Day Eighteen; Tee – Supre; Skirt – […]

Leave a Reply

