TGIF + Memories

17 Sep

I’ve been thinking a lot about my Nana today.  I was digging through an old photo album trying to find a picture I know I have of my very first sewing machine – a “my little pony” monstrosity like this one.

But  I seem to have removed it from it’s pocket.

Instead though I found photos of outfits that Nana lovingly made.

Pale pink needle cord frills for my fifth birthday party (1987).

A pink gypsy skirt with tassles and silver stars (1987).

An 80s masterpiece ensemble in studded stone washed denim (1988).

Funny – I don’t recall having such an affinity for pink growing up (1989).

The things I remember strongest though, about these clothes isn’t what they look like. It’s the feel of them. I remember the texture of the fine coudroy and the fact that I could bend the silver stars on the gypsy skirt into flowers as they were made of thin tin.

I remember opening my sixth birthday present and finding that denim outfit and feeling like the coolest, most stylish 6 year old around, especially when I wore it with my rainbow roller skates.

And I remember sitting with Nana as she showed me how to sew a circle skirt and thread elastic through the waist casing as my first project when I was 7 or 8.

She died 6 years ago but she was one awesome lady.

This weekends list:

  • I’m thisclose to finishing my purple double-knit Gertie dress. I’m just tweaking the fit, sewing on the neck line straps and hemming.
  • Speaking of Gertie, I need to muslin my Lady Grey for the sew-along and, by goly, hurry up and choose my fabric.
4 Responses to “TGIF + Memories”

  1. Brumby September 17, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Oh this is such a beautiful post, it made my eyes well up! Bless your Nana for giving you such magical moments, even after her passing!

    I remember my Nana (luckily still around) teaching me to hand stitch on her gold velvet brocade couch. Thank you for reminding me to remember!

  2. Patty September 18, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    my childhood photos are a study of my grandma’s sewing! I was a kid in the late 70’s, so holy, ruffly, belly baring, cotton shirt fest! I also had a few shirts she made just like the one you have on with the gypsy skirt. AND I remember, more than once, waking up at her house to find her sewing me up a pair of pants!

    • Kat September 18, 2010 at 2:34 am #

      I wasn’t going to post but your post really tugs on my heartstrings, my grandma is in hospital atm, whilst she never sewed anything for me we did creat many knitted things, (so many toys) well i watched. Everyone deserves to have a great grandma/ nana. They give so much love and we all have special moments to keep their memories alive afterwards. Beautiful pictures by the way, lets see more of your pretty face. ;P

  3. lazystitcher September 18, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    It’s amazing how much the small things shape the reality you remember as a kid. I was lucky enough to grow up with all four of my grandparents and my Poppa is still around. With my immediate family all living overseas, Poppa and I meet for coffee or a movie every Sunday and I’m just so grateful to have that relationship as an adult too.

    Thanks guys, for sharing your recollections too.
    @Kat – Sorry to hear about your Grandma. Take care, okay?

Leave a Reply

