SSS Day Twenty-one: Black Denim Jenny

21 Sep

Day Twenty-one

This pattern is quickly becoming a tried and true shape for me – I’ve used it on my purple double-knit dress which I’ll post soon and I whipped this one up from a light weight black denim this weekend.

I made a couple of changes from the second muslin.  Following the Cupcake Goddess’s advice I cut the waistband on the grain instead of the bias which has helped with the gaping and I used her instructions to convert the back slit to a vent – not that you can see it against the black in this photo.

The slit in my muslin ended up tearing so this change is definitely recommended.

This photo shows the true shape of the skirt the best and you can see why it’s quite flattering and such a popular pattern. The waistband fits snugly but comfortably and the skirt curves gently but is still easy to walk in.

I had lusted after the Jenny Skirt for so long but despaired ever making it as it is only available up to a size 44 which is a full 7 inches less than my built-for-childbirth hips. But it must be fate (or just poor BurdaStyle drafting) as it fit size-wise right off the printer. I just lengthened it at the hip and moved the front darts closer to the center. Easy as pie!

Thanks again Sunni, for the Pencil Skirt Sewalong!

Related:

12 Responses to “SSS Day Twenty-one: Black Denim Jenny”

  1. Sølvi September 21, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    This looks great on you, the shape is very flattering. Love the combo with the gingham blouse!

    I am very skeptical to Burdastyle patterns as I´ve heard some unpleasant stories, and as I tried out one of the patterns last weekend (Esther), the pattern pieces didn´t fit properly. I have been printing out downloadable patterns from other companies such as McCalls and Simplicity, but never had that problem before.

    But this Jenny, she looks so good on everybody, so one gets a bit tempted to try again….

  2. Brumby September 21, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    I agree the skirt is very flattering, look how teeny tiny your waist is! I have not tried then Jenny myself, figure I have enough skirts in a similar style I can adapt, but would like to whip one up with suspenders, I think they look cute!

  3. Patty September 22, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    gurgle! my silly printer went on strike when I tried to print my version (all of a sudden, it requires HP cartridges, not the refill variety I got!). I SO want to try the Jenny – it is so flattering on you!

    I used the vent tutorial too! It was great, except I had trouble with the lining. I might try the most recent Threads version of lining next!

  4. Angela September 22, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    The skirt fits you perfectly! I’m loving all your SSS outfits… including your PJs! 🙂

  5. Jabs February 27, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    I was getting sad about this Jenny but will give it a try. My hips are a 46..but after seeing what you sad. I will give it a go. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are we Beautiful? « delfinelise - September 22, 2010

    […] pieces all over at the other side (for me) of the globe, in New Zealand. Check out her versions of Jenny, for […]

  2. SSS: Days Twenty-two + Twenty-three « Lazy Stitching - September 23, 2010

    […] – I wore the Jenny Skirt two days running. Please don’t judge […]

  3. Whoa, Black Betty (Bam-a-lam): Vogue 8631 « Lazy Stitching - September 24, 2010

    […] Last weekend I whipped up this quick dress from Vogue 8631. It is indeed the same pattern as yesterday’s ‘Betty’ dress, only this time made from the light-weight black denim I used on the Jenny pencil skirt. […]

  4. TGIF: Pattern Knock-out « Lazy Stitching - October 8, 2010

    […] duo of tried and true shapes for me – Simplicity 2594 (Sewn here) and BurdaStyle Jenny (sewn here, there, and everywhere). The pros on this one are that I know it’ll work, I’ll have […]

  5. McCall’s 6069: A Reversible Redux « Lazy Stitching - December 15, 2010

    […] but this time swapping out the unflattering straight (and too short) skirt for my tried and true Burda Style Jenny pencil skirt. I just cut the back piece on the fold (leaving off the vent), stitched the darts and […]

  6. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Suedette Skirt; Turquoise Danielle Dress; Black Pants + Cynthia Rowley Top; Jenny Skirt; Tie-neck […]

  7. Fall Palette Challenge: Double-knit Pencil Skirt, Two Ways « Lazy Stitching - December 9, 2011

    […] Christmas Dress, Amazing Fit Dress, Gertie Dress) and Burdastyle’s Jenny Skirt pattern (here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

