SSS: Days Twenty-two + Twenty-three

23 Sep

Day Twenty-three; Dress - Vogue 8631; Belt - Glassons

I’ve commented before that my polka-dotted ‘Betty’ dress (Vogue 8631) makes me quite the happy-chappy. I am now extending that hypothesis to include making other people smile. It seems to just induce it from people  who all smile brightly when they see the polka dots coming.

The only other time I’ve had such reactions from people regarding a print was a few years ago when I made a leopard print dress for a black-tie evening, inspired by this Gwen Stefani outfit.

Here kitty, kitty!

All of a sudden grown men, old enough to be my father, thought it was appropriate to purr at me in public! So bizzare! I don’t think I’d repeat the experience but it was quite surreal.

Meanwhile, I have another ‘Betty’ in the works, just finishing off the binding tonight.

Day Twenty-two; Skirt - BurdaStyle Jenny; Top - Portmans; Scarf - Portmans

Yes – I wore the Jenny Skirt two days running. Please don’t judge ;-).

6 Responses to “SSS: Days Twenty-two + Twenty-three”

  1. Sara September 24, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    i adore polka dots. they feel so girly and retro. I love your leopard-print dress as well. that gwen stefani dress is a classic.

  2. sabrinaClementine September 24, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    Oh! I love that second outfit….must be the yellow scarf. It really makes the outfit pop!

  3. Angela September 24, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    Great outfits! I love the leopard dress… no wonder you were purred at! 😉

  4. Kat September 24, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I love that gwen stefani dress. I have actually been thinking of making a macaron dress in that sort of colour way. I think it would be fun!

    • lazystitcher September 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      What an awesome idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whoa, Black Betty (Bam-a-lam): Vogue 8631 « Lazy Stitching - September 24, 2010

    […] weekend I whipped up this quick dress from Vogue 8631. It is indeed the same pattern as yesterday’s ‘Betty’ dress, only this time made from the light-weight black denim I used on the Jenny pencil […]

Leave a Reply

