Quick Gertie Dress Poll

25 Sep

I am officially doing what I always swear I won’t and am desperately trying to finish a dress to wear to a friends birthday in the city… in 4 hours from now.

I’ve almost finished, just fine tuning the fit and tacking down facings but I’m having a detail dilemma.

Here is a picture of the dress that Gertie made:

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

See the pretty little strap detailing? It’s the reason I really wanted to make this dress. It was in turn inspired by this Herve Leger dress of Christina Hendricks’:

from Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Unfortunately I keep going round in circles on which straps to attach at the neckline.

I think because of the colour of my fabric I start getting bad bridesmaid dress vibes when I add the cute bow like Gerties. What do you guys think?

6 Responses to “Quick Gertie Dress Poll”

  1. lsaspacey September 25, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I voted for the Gertie detail. The Christina looks like it’s choking you and the last one, while nice, just isn’t as cute as #2. How about just lightly tacking them on today and later adding snaps or hook & eyes so you can have options?

  2. Tasia September 25, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    I also voted for #2. But probably not fast enough to meet your 4 hour deadline! I hope you made a decision in time 🙂

  3. rachel September 25, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    I like the Christina Hendricks detail. Hope you got to finish it in time! And I love the Black Betty dress.

  4. sabrinaClementine September 27, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    So, which one did you make?! I voted for the Christina Hendricks detail….I think it looks hot! Can’t wait to see a picture of the whole dress!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SSS: Days Twenty-five + Twenty-six + Twenty-seven « Lazy Stitching - September 27, 2010

    […] you so much to everyone who voted on the  Quick Gertie Dress Poll. As it turns out, I was still quite literally sewing myself into the dress as my ride arrived so I […]

  2. SSS Day Thirty: The Gertie Dress « Lazy Stitching - October 1, 2010

    […] Quick Gertie Dress Poll […]

Leave a Reply

