Lazy Review: Palmer/Pletsch Full Busted DVD

23 Oct

I’ll start with a disclaimer – I bought this DVD from the Palmer/Pletsch website and paid full price and am not recieving any compensation what-so-ever for this review.

Now with that out of the way… this DVD is awesome!

For those who don’t know, Palmer/Pletsch is responsible for the book Fit for Real People which seems to be the go-to guide for fitting and adjusting patterns in the sewing community. I don’t own the book yet, but based on how useful the DVD is I’m certainly going to hunt it out.

My biggest fitting issue is my large bust. Most commercial patterns are drafted for a B-cup but I carry an H so adjusting the bust is always the first step for me… now.

Until this year I’d never heard of a full bust adjustment (fba) and honestly it didn’t occur to me that it was even possible but as I read more I was stunned and now I’m just plain obsessed. I’ve had a bit of a play with a princess seam adjustment, using this fabulous tutorial from Sew, Mama, Sew! but I was struggling to find tutorials for other types of bodice. Enter Full Busted? Sew Clothes That Fit.

Purchasing off the Palmer/Pletsch website was incredibly straight forward and easy – from memory I used Paypal and the DVD arrived here in New Zealand within a week which is a super quick turn-around. The DVD cost US$19.95 and international shipping $6.92.

The content includes 2 hours in which the host, Marta Alto, walks you through adjusting every style of pattern you can imagine:

 

Princess Seamed

 

Simple Darted
Surplice

 

Empire Line
Twisted/Knotted Front
Pleated
Kimono Sleeved

All the adjustments are based on a simple slash and spread method to add width and length at the bust apex but keep the shoulder and arm holes fitted to the body. The host is just great. She explains things so simply but encouragingly and you can tell she obviously enjoys teaching. As someone who works in an adult education function, I can say this lady knows her stuff and communicates all the right information – I was never thinking “oh boy, I’ll need to go look that up”, and as a visual learner, everything was clearly displayed.

Another great thing is that the format flows from the simplest of adjustments through to real adjustments on real people of all ages, shapes and sizes, including the tutor herself.

The patterns are generally from the big four, and although Palmer/Pletsch produce a line of patterns for McCall’s (with adjustment lines already printed on them) they only use a couple of these and don’t push them at all.

Bottom line, I can’t recommend it highly enough. If you are bigger than a B, you can learn so much from this and if not – they do plenty of other fitting DVDs on their website.

7 Responses to “Lazy Review: Palmer/Pletsch Full Busted DVD”

  1. sabrinaClementine October 23, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    I started to think about purchasing this DVD when you mentioned it last time….but I think you’ve convinced me with the rave review! (Perhaps when I get my next rewards card so I don’t have to feel guilty about spending the money…)

  2. Sølvi October 23, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Hm…. this sounds very interesting! I´ll read my newly purchased books first, though. But a DVD seems like a great way of learning this! 🙂 Thanks for the review!

  3. Patty October 23, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Yay! I have the book and it’s a favorite (although the styling… blergh…) I’ll HAVE to get the DVD now! I’m working on putting together a curriculum for some fitting classes and it’ll do me good to watch someone else teach! I’m a big fan of learning from books, but this DVD looks great!

  4. kat October 23, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    What a great review! I’m going to look into getting the book! You’ll have to do more reviews now!

  5. Angela October 27, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    How cool! That looks it would be fun to learn!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Colette Macaron: FBA Part 1 « Lazy Stitching - October 24, 2010

    […] with my new found knowledge of Full Bust Adjustments, today I embarked on altering my Colette Macaron pattern. I’d […]

  2. Hopes for 2012, Baby! « Lazy Stitching - January 1, 2012

    […] year, I finally got my hands on Palmer/Pletsch’s Fit for Real People from Mum + Dad. Their Full Busted DVD is one of my favourite resources and this book has a lot of love in the sewing community. The […]

Leave a Reply

