Quick Fix Blouse: Simplicity 2594

25 Oct

Maybe it was Self-Stitched September burn-out, or maybe the total lack of work/life balance this month but October has been so very un-productive. I needed a stitching fix fast so I returned to the first project I posted here – Simplicity 2594.

Unfortunately like most things done in a hurried manner, it didn’t quite satisfy. It’s lovely and floaty but I think the sleeves (from View F) make my shoulders seem wider and rounder than they are – particularly from the back.

It’s not unwearable – it’s just that it doesn’t make me want to wear it.

Still it has some lovely details like the draped neckline.

And shell buttons on the sleeve tabs.

I think I shall need to try again another day.

7 Responses to “Quick Fix Blouse: Simplicity 2594”

  1. Brumby October 25, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Maybe it is something in the air, I have just sat in front of machine today for the first time in weeks (coincidentally sewing a dress with the same neck detail!) and am struggling. Nothing seems to be coming together without modifications. Plus it is SO beautiful and sunny I keep venturing outside to see what I am missing (fatal mistake!) and end of playing with pup for ages instead.

    • lazystitcher October 25, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      So true! Fingers crossed the sunshine will hold for a while – I have a crazy travel itinerary at the moment and I hate flying in rough weather. 🙂

  2. Sølvi October 26, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I love the draping, and most of all – that color is absolutely stunning on you. Beautiful! 🙂

  3. Angela October 27, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    Oo… I do like the draped neckline and the color on you!!

  4. Betty December 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Love the colour you’ve chosen and the sleeves of view F are great. Do all the views of this pattern have pieces cut on the bias or just the draped necklines? I’d love to make view F with the V-neck but i’m a bit scared of bias cut fabric!

    • lazystitcher December 11, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

      Hey Betty,
      It’s just the cowl neck variations that are cut on the bias – all the others are cut on grain 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: 10 Minute Skirt; Quick Fix Blouse; Reversible LBD; Rust Jacket; Rust Skirt; Shift […]

Leave a Reply

