Colette Macaron Muslin: The Labour Day Dress

10 Nov

Hooray! It's done.

Labour Day falls on the last Monday of October, and is generally regarded as the first day of the Kiwi summer. At primary school it was the weekend the school pool opened for swimming and it marks the first long weekend after Queens Birthday in June.

It deserves a summery, slightly nautical dress. Sadly my muslin of Colette Patterns Macaron took me three weeks to complete and well missed the deadline.

 

Full Bust Adjustment Complete.

Still the perseverance payed off. The  full bust adjustment (FBA Part 1, FBA Part 2) worked well and the dress fits great at the shoulders, though I think on my true version I’ll shorten the vertical darts by an inch so they don’t crowd the bust apex.

I’ll also remove some of the ease from the sleeve cap as she’s a little puffy up there.

I love the detailing in this pattern – especially the skirt. The pleats in front hide the pockets and provide a nice drape to the skirt.

The sweetheart bodice actually sits flat even after all the bust adjustments, whew!

Unfortunately there were still some quirks to try my patience…

… and you don’t want to see my invisible zip.

But as a throw-on-run-about-weekend-just-past-labour-day-dress it fits the bill nicely.

Ps. Because I used the thread on hand at the sewing machine to craft the bracelet on Sunday, I now have a bonus matching accessory!

 

19 Responses to “Colette Macaron Muslin: The Labour Day Dress”

  1. rachel November 10, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Looks great! The fit is perfect and I love the contrasting fabric.

    I found some pieces didn’t match up well with this dress either. I had to trim and work hard to match up the sides. And I didn’t do an invisible zip – I did a handpicked zipper cos inserting an invisible one in the side just seemed too difficult.

    Will you make another version?

  2. laurwyn November 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Yeay for bonus accessories!

    There is a “Colette pattern mood” going in the blogosphere, and it makes me pretty jealous! I am in LOVE with so many of her patterns. My issue is that they are pretty expensive and that the shipping costs are crazy to Europe…
    I hate budgeting!
    By the way, that dress is so nicely fitted and it makes you look great!

  3. lakaribane November 11, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    Ok, tell me that is NOT a VW bus print on the bus!!!! TDF cuteness. congrats on the successfull FBA. This is a “wearable muslin”, right? I think your “real” version is going to be superbe. I haven’t been keeping up with your blog *blushes* so I don’t know if you picked the fabric already. Are you keeping the light bodice/dark dress combination?

  4. Patty November 11, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    I’t awesome! I wasn’t sure what I thought of this pattern because of the pleating on the stomach and the sweetheart neckline – so flattering on you, though! I love the chance to mix up two fabrics!

  5. Sølvi November 11, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Oh! This looks gorgeous! I love the buses. They are adorable. Very nice work!

  6. sabrinaClementine November 11, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Love how the fit turned out! Good job with the FBA!

  7. lazystitcher November 11, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Thanks for all the lovely comments guys. I finally feel like I’m getting a little motivation back!
    @Rachel: Glad it’s not just me that couldn’t get the bits to go together,it can make you feel like you’re going crazy.
    @Laurwyn: Yup, they definitely get quite costly but our dollar just hit 80c against the US dollar so I decided to take advantage… or at least that was my excuse!
    @Lakaribane + @Solvi: Yes they are totally little VW combi buses – I couldn’t resist their little charm!

  8. Camelia Crinoline November 11, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I think this is my favrouite Macaron I’ve seen. I love the kombi print. It fits you perfectly so all your hard work on the FBA obviously paid off.

    • lazystitcher November 11, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

      Thanks, chick!

  9. Sandy November 13, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I love it! I’ll be working on this dress as soon as I can find the fabric I want. Good for you doing a muslin first. I’m never patient enough but yours paid off, looks great 🙂

  10. Tasia November 19, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Cute dress! Love the quirky bus print 🙂

  11. charlotteauzou December 14, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    This is a really pretty dress. The vans are cute ! I should really try this pattern.

  12. jana February 26, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Very nice! I would love to make this one! But I´m even lazier I think, so I´m a bit afraid how would it turn out… 🙂

    • lazystitcher March 1, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Hehe… I swear, it looks like more work than it is 🙂

      • Christine August 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

        I love the dress and the VW fabric is toooo die for! I’d love to know any info on that fabric….I wanna make one too!

      • lazystitcher August 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

        Thanks Christine! Sadly that fabric was just a random find at Spotlight.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Fourth Row: Trench Coat; Lazy Shirt; Marimekko Tunic; Mermaid Dress; Jenny Muslin; Colette Macaron […]

  2. A mixed Macaron. Fitting, part 1. | The Snug Bug - July 27, 2011

    […] Also, that uber-high neck. Sigh. But last fall, Alana from Lazy Stitching did a version that looked great (with a super-duper two-part FBA tutorial- you can click to parts 1 & 2 from her reveal post!), […]

  3. A Vintage Christmas Colette Macaron « Lazy Stitching - December 12, 2011

    […] is my second version of Colette Pattern’s Macaron dress although the first, which you can see here, was really a wearable muslin. For this version I finally got to use this lovely vintage cotton […]

Leave a Reply

