TGIF: Napping in Napier

11 Nov

I’m on the road again with a last minute overnight trip to Napier. Normally on these trips I get zero time to actually look around and so I was stoked on this one to catch the last of the late afternoon sun and a walk on the beach. Here’s a quick snap shot.

It was a stunner of a day...

... and given that the beach is the star in Napier...

... it's a good thing that this is the view from my hotel room...

... and that I packed my sunnies!

You won't need your togs though...

... as this beach is rough. Check out the size of that surf vs. the size of those people.

Love the hotel, and look in the corner...

A giant spa bath!

I got in so you could see the scale of it but it's bigger than you think.

And it has pretty art deco chairs.

A full day tomorrow and a late flight home but at least I got a little glimpse outside and a good dose of Vitamin D from head to toes…

P.s. If you’re not sure what Togs are (as mentioned above) this video might help.

7 Responses to “TGIF: Napping in Napier”

  1. Suzie November 11, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Omg, is it Friday in NZ already?!! I’m only getting going with Thursday at the moment!!!
    Napier looks like a lovely place, jealous of all that lovely sunshine….I’m freezing over here in Northern Ireland!!!

    • lazystitcher November 13, 2010 at 7:52 am #

      Okay, I cheated a little… it was posted at 11pm on Thursday night! 😉

  2. laurwyn November 12, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    I figured out you had reverse seasons last week while watching junior masterchef online last week! I could take a picture of “lovely Netherlands” and it would show a white/grey sky, rain and wet autumn leaves. What is weird with fall, here, is that it looks gorgeous outside with sun, and completely ugly with rain. Extremes…

    Gorgeous hotel room 😉

  3. sabrinaClementine November 12, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Thanks for the clarification…I was about to ask what togs were. (loved that commercial!) It’s still Thursday here…it’s like you’re reporting from the future!! hehe. I also thought it was really funny in the last post…how Labor Day marks the start of the summer for you all. For us it’s the opposite! We’re just starting to cool off a bit after a hot summer. Enjoy your weekend!

    • lazystitcher November 13, 2010 at 7:54 am #

      Hehe… I like to call my best friend in Canada on New Years Day so we are in different years (such a geek).

  4. rachel November 12, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Loved the togs video — here in Australia some states use the term ‘togs’ and others don’t. When I first came to Victoria from Queensland and was saying ‘togs’ I used to get the oddest looks…. until I explained they were what the Victorians call ‘bathers’ or ‘swimmers’.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What do you call it? « Lazy Stitching - November 13, 2010

    […] about Togs (or swimmers or bathers or swimwear) yesterday started me thinking of all the fashionable (or not so fashionable) things that have differing names […]

Leave a Reply

