Inspiration: Marimekko + Next Project

29 Nov

Marimekko: Alina Tunic

Eekk… so I’ve developed a new wee obsession with Marimekko after Anna posted it on her blog, Door Sixteen.

Beautiful simple lines in stunning fabrics and cleanly sophisticated details… yum!

Marimekko: Hunaja Tunic

Marimekko: Hoku Tunic

And pretty cotton fabrics…

Marimekko: Mustikkamaa Fabric

Marimekko:Kuusikulmio

So needless to say I was pretty stoked to find a close match for this fabric at Spotlight in the weekend…

Marimekko: Unikko fabric

(Confession for anyone else looking, my find was a quilting cotton but I don’t care)

Next project is to pair it with this super simple BurdaStyle downloadable…

Burda Magazine 03/2010 #104

… and soon I shall have my very own Marimekko inspired tunic!

 

10 Responses to “Inspiration: Marimekko + Next Project”

  1. laurwyn November 30, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    I really like that pattern! Also, those fabrics are gorgeous! They’d work perfectly for a 70’s psychedelic effect.

  2. Sølvi November 30, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Yay for Finland! My darling has had a crush on Marimekko patterns for years, so all our coffee tin cans etc has the Unikko pattern.

    I love your choice of dress pattern. Looking forward to the process and result! 🙂

  3. lakaribane November 30, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    Oooh, I love that Mustikkamaa fabric, so cute!

    I love the pattern and fabric choice you made, very similar to the original but how soft is the quilting fabric after you wash it? I’ve read several times online that quilting fabric is stiff enough for skirts but not much else.

    • lazystitcher November 30, 2010 at 5:05 am #

      I think I might be lucky with this one… it feels reasonable soft. If you’ve every had one of Ikea’s basic cotton printed Duvet covers (another obsession of mine) – it feels like that so I may just get away with it.

  4. Sarah November 30, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Ok, I am officially downloading that Burda Dress! I LOVE all of those looks!

    Thanks for the inspiration & can’t wait to see how yours comes out!

    And, for the record, I have made a few garments with quilters cotton, and have NO complaints. 🙂

  5. rachel November 30, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    The green fabric is fantastic – can’t wait to see yours made up, I love that style.

  6. lsaspacey December 1, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    That is going to look great. FYI, you may want to underline, line it, or have a slip ready because quilting cottons love to cling, especially to tights!

  7. lsaspacey December 1, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    I forgot, that first one is my favorite, why or why can’t I find fabric like that? I guess I’ll have to start dying, dipping, and painting my own.

  8. Angela December 1, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    OOO… those are nice! Can’t wait to see it finished!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marimekko Inspired Tunic: Burda 03/2010 #104 « Lazy Stitching - December 2, 2010

    […] a quick recap, here is the original inspiration for this dress and the pattern I used – Burda Magazine 03/2010 […]

Leave a Reply

