December Wardrobe: Party Panic

6 Dec

With the holidays in full swing and the sunshine playing it’s part I was thinking about what I’d like to sew this month.

I know I have certain events coming up with different levels of dress code and whilst I’m sure I could find something suitable in the closet to wear, I decided to make like the Sewaholic and scramble together a few new somethings to get me through. Because who doesn’t like a good excuse to make something frivolous.

Time is of the essence though, with the first event underway on Thursday…

On the list are:

Vogue 9668 in Cobalt Blue

BurdaStyle Danielle in Turquoise Floral Cotton

McCall’s 6069 – colour to be decided depending on what I can find 🙂

Burda Magazine 02/2010 Long Skirt in Navy

Brian Reyes inspired dress adapted from Vogue 1109

13 Responses to “December Wardrobe: Party Panic”

  1. lakaribane December 7, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Well, good luck! My advice would be:

    1) cutting out marathon (if you haven’t done that yet);
    2) pick one or two colors of thread and sew all the garments that can be made in that same color together;
    3) Start with the ones you’ve made before, they should go quickly;
    4) factory sewing: if you sew with the same color thread, I usually do all my darts/straight seams in one go, I interface everthing in one sitting, put in all the zippers etc. for several garments. Helps move things along.

    Hope this helps!

  2. Kim December 7, 2010 at 4:01 am #

    Well, the knit dress would be the easiest to fit quickly. So, I’d start with that one for your earliest event. I made the Burda 6-2009-129 for a party last weekend that was quick and easy out of a metallic knit. It was comfy yet dressy based on the fabric chosen. I’d take it just one at time, but I’m not much of a planner…:-)

  3. lsaspacey December 7, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Ooh, those all look lovely, I can’t wait to see the dress made from that striped top pattern. I always find myself looking at that pattern and wondered what it looks like made up. Of course, I’ll be checking back to see all these. Good luck!

  4. Camelia Crinoline December 7, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I love the Vogue dress at the top and the others are all cute too. I can’t wait to see your progress on these. You’re brave trying to do so much right before the madness of Christmas.

    • lazystitcher December 7, 2010 at 10:04 am #

      Not brave – my family have been here from London for the last couple of weeks and won’t be here for christmas so my madness came early and now it’s calm for the most part until the New Year! 🙂

  5. Tasia December 7, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Good luck! It IS possible to whip out a dress in a few days if you have long, solid days to dedicate to sewing! (Or a bunch of very focused evenings..) The trick is to stay focused, have all of the supplies on hand, and if possible, use patterns you’ve made before. (That last one is the only reason I finished my dress so quick – no constant trying-on of the work in progress!)
    Good luck and hope it comes together exactly as planned! 🙂

  6. Tasia December 7, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Alana, I just thought of one other thing.. that Vogue 9668 dress has a bias skirt and needs to hang for 24hours before hemming. Thought I’d mention it so you don’t find out at the last minute!

    • lazystitcher December 7, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

      Brilliant! I totally would have been caught out on that one!
      You’re a star 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Shopping: The Perfect Summer Lippy « Lazy Stitching - December 7, 2010

    […] lunchtime and wants to grab a swim at the beach before her flight back to snowy London. Plus I have a little sewing in the works (thanks for all your tips […]

  2. BurdaStyle Danielle: When 2+2 = 5 « Lazy Stitching - December 8, 2010

    […] down, four to go! Here is the first dress for my December Party Panic Wardrobe and I started nice and easy… […]

  3. Double Cowl Dress: McCall’s 6069 « Lazy Stitching - December 11, 2010

    […] that’s another one check off my December Wardrobe […]

  4. Bonus Party Dress: New Look 6643 « Lazy Stitching - December 13, 2010

    […] sulking for a minute when Dress #2 of my Party Panic Wardrobe didn’t quite capture the summer feeling I wanted, I made a super quick Spotlight trip on […]

  5. Gertie’s Crepe Sew-along #2: Bodice Muslin Take Two « Lazy Stitching - December 17, 2010

    […] okay, I can let my impatience and complete lack of attention to detail run wild with the quick party dress projects since the Crepe Sew-along runs at a slow and steady pace through […]

Leave a Reply

