BurdaStyle Danielle: When 2+2 = 5

8 Dec

One down, four to go! Here is the first dress for my December Party Panic Wardrobe and I started nice and easy… ish.

The pattern is a free BurdaStyle Downloadable and as such is pretty popular. I started by scanning the great gallery of finished projects. It has been a well customised pattern so it was cool to pick out which details and alterations I liked and wanted to use.

I was challenged a bit as this was a stash busting project too and I only had 1.5m (1.6 yards) of this turqouise floral cotton which I have been tossing around for projects for a while – remember this?

Well it didn’t make it into a Macaron or a Jenny, instead it became an altered Danielle. Given the fabric restriction and the gorgeous results of Natty’s Low Back version, I made it sleeveless and square necked at the back too and the skirt is simply two rectangles gathered at the waist. I swear not an inch of fabric was waisted.

I couldn’t fit facings into the layout (seriously – the skirt hem is the selvage that’s how close I cut it) so I used some taupe lining I had in the drawer and fully lined the dress which also helped eliminate any see throughness of the cotton.

My biggest struggle with the pattern was the FBA which should have been so simple and straight forward. The original pattern is drafted with a single vertical dart under the bust. The standard FBA opens up a side bust dart which gives more shape to the curves – but it was just not working for me. The thoery was all in place… 2 + 2 should = 4 but all I kept getting was 5. So I ended up fudging it out of frustration, but luckily it’s still quite wearable.

Plus I hand-picked my first zipper using Tasia’s detailed tutorial.

The result is a cute retro sundress that is going to get a lot of wear over the summer. Now I’m off to see if I can style it enough to wear it to the office 😉

9 Responses to “BurdaStyle Danielle: When 2+2 = 5”

  1. Tasia December 8, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    What a great summer dress! I’m so glad the hand-picked zipper tutorial made sense and was helpful. (I’m rather envious of your warm weather as well.) Looks fantastic!

  2. laurwyn December 8, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    I just did a FBA on my Macaron, and it looks weird too… There must be FBA demons hanging around (Sorry, I must watch too much of “Supernatural”).
    But the dress is gorgeous! Love the print, and the low back adjustment.

  3. rachel December 8, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    It is such a cute dress – the fabric is lovely. The zipper looks great – and I can’t believe how quickly it came together!

  4. Suzie December 8, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Oh my goodness, I can’t beleive you have made this already! All these super fast sewers are really putting me to shame! Your dress turned out fab, I love the fabric. And I’m so jealous that you are making summer dresses while I’m shivering here and trying to put more and more layers on! Looking forward to seeing what you churn out next 🙂

  5. lakaribane December 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Wow, you sew girl! Congratulations, very cute!

  6. Sølvi December 8, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    This look like a perfect dress for summer! And again, this kind of colors on you looks fantastic. Hope you´ll have a great party! (and as Tasia, I´m envious about the weather;-)).

  7. Law December 9, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    I had an issue with the Danielle too! I did an FBA but had all this baggyness right at the front of my bust but the length was still too short, i’ve made 2 muslins on this bodice, and have given up for now 😦

    I like your variations though, especially the low back.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Suedette Skirt; Turquoise Danielle Dress; Black Pants + Cynthia Rowley Top; Jenny Skirt; Tie-neck […]

  2. MMM Days Nine through Fourteen « Lazy Stitching - March 14, 2011

    […] Day 10 brunch and a road trip up to Paihia in the Bay of Islands (Dress: Burdastyle Danielle). […]

Leave a Reply

