McCall’s 6069: A Reversible Redux

15 Dec

First of all, I just wanted to say thank you so much to everyone for all the encouragement and gorgeous helpful comments on the last couple of posts. I’m down in Wellington for a couple of days for work so I haven’t had a chance to do a proper catch-up and reply but it makes a lovely treat for the weekend.

Here’s what I made on Sunday afternoon. I really wanted to give McCall’s 6069 another try but this time swapping out the unflattering straight (and too short) skirt for my tried and true Burda Style Jenny pencil skirt. I just cut the back piece on the fold (leaving off the vent), stitched the darts and then gathered the top into the skirt before stitching. I still put in the elastic at the waist but the pencil outline was a lot nicer than the original.

I also left off the sleeves making it more summer suited and used a crepe textured knit. I wanted the option of wearing it to work so I used the square necked front from view C to make the back bodice.

Which also meant that I had, all be it unintentionally, made a reversible dress!

The perfect dress for when you don’t have time to change between work and fun.

10 Responses to “McCall’s 6069: A Reversible Redux”

  1. laurwyn December 15, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    It’s like magic! Two dresses in one. They are gorgeous! Using the Jenny skirt was a very nice idea!

  2. Brumby December 16, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    Looks fantastic, is a beautiful style and so cool that it is reversible! You really are cranking through the sewing, well done!

  3. lsaspacey December 16, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    The only response I can think that fits is “Sassy”! Looks great too.

  4. Kat December 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    You have such great style Alana! I love the dress and the fact that is reversible only endears it more. I plan to make a dress from knit fabric next year.

  5. narcissaqtpie December 17, 2010 at 4:26 am #

    Very nice! & great to know that it could be worn both ways. You’ve sold me on this one to make very soon.

  6. Tasia December 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Great, versatile dress! You are absolutely speeding through your to-sew list, it’s impressive!

  7. Susan - Knitters Delight December 17, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    I love your version of this dress!

  8. lazystitcher December 17, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks guys! My favourite part of this dress was that it came about entirely by happy accident 🙂

  9. msmodiste January 7, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog and wow, I love the work you’re doing! This in particular is such a great look – such a great move combining the bodice with the jenny skirt. I’m excited to go back through and read your archives 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: 10 Minute Skirt; Quick Fix Blouse; Reversible LBD; Rust Jacket; Rust Skirt; Shift […]

Leave a Reply

