Oh No!: A Lazy Guide to Pattern Rescue.

16 Dec

As I pulled into my driveway this afternoon, returning from the airport my first reaction to seeing a yellow envelope protruding from the mailbox was delight (yellow envelopes always equal online shopping delivery around here). Sadly my brain then caught up and put two and two together – outside mail box plus pouring rain – and my face dropped.

My beautiful new Sewaholic pattern had copped the worst of the weather.

I could have cried and not just for myself. Ever since Tasia announced she was entering the pattern designing biz she has been documenting the progress on her sewaholic.net blog. From design, to instructions, layout to printing you can see how much time and energy has gone into producing the gorgeous end product, so I felt awful for letting someone elses handiwork get ruined like that.

When I lived in Canada, the mail was delivered through a slot in the front door and the address numbers were afixed to the side of the house. I’m guessing that it’s pretty common in most places in North America. Over here most places have a roadside letterbox for mail. Unfortunately this often leaves them exposed to the unpredictable elements. Sometimes I get my packages sent to work but if I get too many the receptionist gets a little scowly.

Carefully I teased the contents from the envelope…

Whilst the outer envelopes had borne the worst I managed to get the tissue out without tearing and promptly took to the ironing board on low heat.

I swear I was holding my breath the entire time but, thank goodness, it seems to have mostly escaped unscathed and there will be many a Pendrell Blouse to come.

P.S. For those who don’t know, Tasia will be hosting a Pendrell sewalong in January and you can still order you pattern from the Sewaholic Pattern Store in time.

5 Responses to “Oh No!: A Lazy Guide to Pattern Rescue.”

  1. Kat December 16, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I had that happen with fabric. I quickly put it in the wash so it didn’t go mouldy! I’m glad you have been able to save your pattern. Kat 😉

  2. Debi December 16, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Yay! So glad you were able to save the pattern! It looks fantastic! Can’t wait to see it all made up!

  3. Tasia December 17, 2010 at 3:57 am #

    Ohhh no!! I’m so glad you were able to rescue the pattern, that was quick thinking on your part. Looking forward to seeing your version of the blouse! 🙂

    • lazystitcher December 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      Hehe… I might need to sneak one in before the sew-a-long 😉

      • Tasia December 21, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

        If you do, I’d love to see it!! Bonus points if you post how you do the FBA 🙂

Leave a Reply

