Jail-break Dress: Vogue 1109

24 Dec

Here it is. The perfect getaway dress for my holiday office parole.

I’ve had this one in the back of my mind for a while, inspired first by this dress from Brian Reyes Resort 2011.

And to be honest I was expecting this project to be harder but everything kept falling into place. I found this pattern, Vogue 1109, and decided to take a gamble.

I extended the hem to the knee, following the existing lines on the tunic front, back and sides and I raised the arm hole by an inch. I ended up needing to take an extra dart of fabric at the bust, but that was the only hiccup asides from the pain of cutting graphic stripes.

It’s simple but unusual – which I like and the instructions, written by Sandra Betzina, are fantastic.

So now it’s Christmas Eve and I have two full weeks off to relax and sew and swim at the beach…

Happy Holidays to you and your loved ones xo.

13 Responses to “Jail-break Dress: Vogue 1109”

  1. Sabrina Clementine December 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    It turned out great! I see what you mean now about the stripes making you dizzy! lol

    • lazystitcher December 24, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      Hehe… at least if I was really trying to break out of jail the stripes might hypnotise the guards into letting me past 😉

  2. Kat December 24, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    What a great dress! Your gamble paid off, i love the style so classic. Well done Alana. Merry Christmas.

  3. Brumby December 24, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Love love love it! Hope you have a lovely Xmas tomorrow, I plan on cracking a bottle of bubbles first thing, cos that what Xmas is about in my house. Cohen has a smorgasbord of disgusting things he will love, like horse meat, and liver, and tripe to try to compensate for not having his human cousins around this year. Merry Xmas Alana!

    • lazystitcher December 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      Merry Xmas to you too!
      I wish I could pop the bubbles first thing but I need to drive up to Waiwera for lunch with the Whanau. I’ve got my fingers crossed for sunshine though!

  4. Cecili December 25, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    That’s so cool! I love this dress, I think it was definitely worth the pain, right^^?

  5. lakaribane December 25, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    I just bought this to gift my mother with for Xmas (it’s going to be late, damn!) and I might just have to steal your dress idea because you look fantastic!

  6. lsaspacey December 25, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    Wowsa, I love it! Great job!

  7. Sølvi December 26, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    Adore it! You´re making some great dresses, Alana! Love them all. Happy holidays to you too! 🙂

  8. lizajane December 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Wow, this is awesome. I love stripes. Your dress is great, almost like an optical illusion!

  9. Kate October 6, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Love this! Think I might have to give your version a go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 « Lazy Stitching - December 29, 2010

    […] Row: Double-cowl Dress; Gucci-esque Jenny; Jail-break Dress; Khakis; Knit Top; Poet […]

  2. MMM Day One « Lazy Stitching - March 1, 2011

    […] eased into it today with the last project I made before my un-intentional hiatus – The Jail-break Dress adapted from Vogue […]

Leave a Reply

