Fresh Week: Floor Plans

4 Jan

First task on my list for my Fresh Start Week is the living room. She needs a good de-clutter, organising and cleaning which according to this article I found via apartmenttherapy.com is more difficult than you think. The part I found interesting was when it pointed out that there is a reason we always underestimate how long spring cleaning takes. This is because you’re actually using many different parts of your brain as you go. Cleaning is a physical task, organising is an intellectual one as you’re trying to categorise items, but the real kicker is de-cluttering as it’s physical, intellectual and emotional as you’re dealing with memories and feelings of security attached to ‘having stuff’.

So once that stuff is out of the way today, here is what I’ve been playing with on floorplanner.

This is the current layout. I live by myself in a subdivided villa which are pretty common in Auckland. There is a hallway off which come the bedroom, bathroom/laundry and the living/kitchen space seen here. I love the house – it’s old and hasn’t been done up much with beat-up wooden floors and high ceilings and a gorgeous bay window.

Blackberry photos before I moved in

There is a window on the side which overlooks the neighbours (I’ve since added some window film for privacy).

And a lovely old fireplace which has been blocked off.

It has enough space, it’s just a bit awkward to work with. When I first moved in, I put the couch in the bay window and bought a second hand table to use for sewing in the interim.

Here’s what I’d like to change:

  • I want to swap the table to something bigger that I can cut out on rather than the floor. The bay window doesn’t have much of a view (unless you like watching cars) but it gets a lot of natural light that I’d like to use. Currently the table is by the fireplace which is too cramped when you’re moving between the sewing machine, overlocker and ironing board.
  • I have two thrifted dressers I use for storage. The one in the photo above, I’m moving to the bedroom but the one below will stay and I want to add some shelving for fabric and patterns.

My first idea was to move the couch to below the side window but I don’t like the idea of it being so close to the oven.

Then I thought I could sort of section the room into two spaces by facing the couch to the fireplace.

Which I like in theory but it blocks the path to the fridge and unfortunately, its pretty much the only place in the room the fridge can be put.

So I’m really down to these three ideas:

Table Lengthways

Meanwhile I’m stalking the Blue Gardenia’s Sewing Spaces series for ideas.

7 Responses to “Fresh Week: Floor Plans”

  1. Brumby January 4, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I personally like the idea of the couch facing the fireplace and having the dining table running parallel to the kitchen bench in the alcove of the bay window where you currently have the lounge suite, it certainly seems to make the most of natural light.

    May I ask why you are concerned about the lounge suite blocking the fridge when it faces the fireplace, but not when you have it with its back to the fireplace? Is it because you have moved it to the left slightly?

    Good luck anyway, I have spent the last week refurbishing my entire furniture inventory, has being damn hard work, but today is finishing touches/staging day where I finally get to see it all set up and see where I have gaps that need filling (soft furnishings etc) its so exciting to have a home you really love being in.

  2. rachel January 4, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    What a cool website! I love the bay window – would it work to put your sewing table underneath the window? That would really use the light. Also – would the fridge fit alongside the kitchen bit? There appears to be a space at the end there – would the fridge fit there?

    Will be interested to see how it turns out – good luck!!

  3. lsaspacey January 5, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Okay, here are my two cents:

    1) Does the table have to be that big, how about getting one with drop-down sides so that it isn’t always so big?
    2)Can the refrigerator go in the corner near the stove?
    3)If you have the sofa in front of the fireplace, have it facing it, not away, since it’s so lovely.

    Basically I like your second diagram the best. Good luck!

  4. rachel February 10, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Alana, you’ve gone AWOL! I hope all is okay – miss your blogging. 🙂

  5. lakaribane February 23, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Alana, are you ok? I just read the news and I had a flashback from seeing the photos. Please let us know how you are.

    • lakaribane February 23, 2011 at 2:19 am #

      Let me amend that to say that I encompass you friends and family in that “are you ok?” question. I can’t remember if you ever said you had any but people do travel so who knows?

      • lazystitcher February 23, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

        Hey lakaribane, thanks for the nice thoughts. I do travel down to Christchurch a bit for work but luckily was up in Auckland yesterday. And although our four shops have been almost destroyed (3 are within the CBD cordon) we have heard from all of our collegues and everyone is okay but the loss is just devastating out there and most are in shock. All we can do right now is hold on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

