MMM Day One

1 Mar

Oh boy, I hereby admit to being a terrible participant. Apparently my best intentions of sewalongs and project themes are just no match for my ability to veg out and do nothing. Whilst, one of my firm beliefs is sewing feels like a chore, you shouldn’t do it, I would also like to believe I’m not one to back down from a challenge so here is my pledge for So Zo’s Challenge:

‘I, Alana of Lazy Stitching, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-March ’11. I endeavour to wear all me-made items with the exception of tights, knitwear and unmentionables each day for the duration of March 2011′

After the fun of Self-Stitched-September I’ve tried to step up my commitment from just wearing one me-made item a day. But I also know, I’m never going to get round to sewing knit basics like singlets and cardigans. I tried once and it didn’t go well:

Armholes forever!

I eased into it today with the last project I made before my un-intentional hiatus – The Jail-break Dress adapted from Vogue 1109.

Someone at work told me it looked like something from Alice in Wonderland. I hope they meant it as a compliment because that’s how I’m taking it 😉

13 Responses to “MMM Day One”

  1. kuka March 1, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I love it – and I think it is much nicer than the pattern envelope!!

    • lazystitcher March 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. Michelle March 2, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    Oh! You’re doing MMM too! Me too. I love your dress – much nicer than the Vogue patterns model’s version!!

    • lazystitcher March 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Thanks Michelle!

  3. Laurwyn March 2, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    I would take it as a compliment…

    You are the first MMMArch I see! I still should take my picture of the day!

    • lazystitcher March 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Hehe.. I didn’t take my picture until the evening and I did consider photoshopping out the coffee I managed to spill on myself, but luckily you can’t really see it!

  4. sabrinaClementine March 2, 2011 at 3:28 am #

    Good to see you’re back! I still don’t have enough self-made clothes to participate in MMM, but maybe by September I’ll be ready! lol. Like the dress, and I look forward to seeing your March outfits.

    • lazystitcher March 2, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      Thanks chick! Sadly I think at least initially most of my outfits will be repeats but I want to get a few new things done this month. 🙂

  5. lindsaybobindsay March 2, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    I’m doing MMM for the first time, and this is a great start! Your dress is super cute– I think by ‘something from Alice in Wonderland’ they mean ‘something by an Oscar-winning designer’. That’s what they mean.

    • lazystitcher March 2, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Haha… thanks so much!

  6. Kat March 19, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Glad to see you back – I missed getting your emails, actually i started to worry about you. Aren’t I sad? 🙂

    • lazystitcher March 23, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Not sad at all!! That’s so thoughtful 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MMM Day Two « Lazy Stitching - March 2, 2011

    […] Yesterday I wore one of the last projects featured on the blog, and today I wore one of the first. These are the first real pants I made and are from my fave pattern New Look 6190. […]

Leave a Reply

