Sewing in a New Country – British Buys

13 Aug

In addition to what was packed in my suitcase, I thought I’d share what I’ve bought since arriving.

Ray Stitch is the brand new bricks and mortar version of the online store. Happily they are located on Essex Road just around the corner from my parents place in Islington, the store is gorgeous, warm and inviting. I stopped by for a coffee and walked out with new pins, denim machine needles and some gorgeous cotton for the pockets of the denim shorts I’m making.

Pattern making supplies: Brown paper and 40cm ruler from Ryman Stationers. Pattern Cutting Board (I swear these are almost impossible to find at home!) from Ditto Fabrics in Brighton. Also at Ditto I found a couple of lovely remnants.

A floral cotton sateen for Simplicity 2512.

Stripey knit for a scoop necked tank top.

I really couldn’t afford much when I visited the famous Liberty, certainly not fabrics at £19/m, however they too have a remnants table, with 1 meter cuts of cotton for £12. I picked a soft blue ditzy floral and whilst I was a little apprehensive that Liberty have been hyped so much that I would be disappointed once I got it home, I must so the quality of the printing is insane. See if you can tell the right side from the wrong below.

Whilst were talking London landmarks for fabric, I made a far too brief visit to Goldhawk road to grab some fabric for a couple of muslins. In particular I was looking for 6mm woven gingham to make McCall’s fitting shell (2718).

The pattern was one of four I bought online when the McCall’s patterns were on sale. You can see from the envelope illustration that it’s pretty dated but the instructions are from Fit for Real People‘s Palmer/Pletsch so I’m looking forward to playing around with fitting.

(Two more Palmer/Pletsch – McCall’s: 5974, 6331, and Vogue: 8491)

Another online purchase – twin ballpoint needles to sew that stripey knit above!

One of the first UK purchases was from another local – the Make Lounge on Barnsbury St – where I picked up a bias binding maker for all those Sorbetto Tops planned and another tricky find in New Zealand – dressmakers carbon paper.

I picked up a tracing wheel for the carbon at Goldhawke Road, along with a fly zipper and some piping cord for the Rooibos sewalong.

And that friends, is how you blink and find yourself with a sewing stash.

8 Responses to “Sewing in a New Country – British Buys”

  1. Brumby August 13, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Oh that black and cream fabric at the very bottom is similar to one I have in my stash, now you have me wanting to whip it out and go cut into it! Some great buys, I hear Goldhawke Rd is pretty amazing so look forward to seeing what you get from there on your next trip and when funds permit!

    • lazystitcher August 13, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      Oh fun! What do you think you’ll make with it?

  2. mujerboricua August 13, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    You went to Ray Stitch? Jealous. I missed the announcement it opened or I would have visited this week. Can’t wait to go check it out.

    Have you been to Fabric Galore in Battersea? It has very affordable Liberty fabric. From £10 to £20 a meter. I bought some on sale and it was £8.50 for 1.5M. Far place to visit since I live in north London but worth a visit here and there.

    Love that stripey fabric. It’s going to make a great tank top.

    • lazystitcher August 13, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      Yeah, I think they were doing a soft opening to begin with while they adjust to the store but it’s really lovely inside. If you feel like it, let me know when you’re stopping by and I’ll meet you for a coffee 🙂
      Will definitely drop by Fabric Galore – I think I must have gone past Battersea when I caught the train to Brighton so it should be manageable.

  3. Suzie August 14, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Wow – you’re definately sorted for LOTS of future sewing now!!! Jealous of your proximity to all the lovely sewing shops in London…Belfast has very little to offer unfortunately, so most of my shopping is done online.

  4. lsaspacey August 16, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Hey, I’m having a hard time finding a cardboard cutting board here in the U.S!
    Jo-Ann and Hancock Fabrics just assume everyone is cutting with rotary these days. My old board was my mother’s board so it is at least 20 years old and literally falling apart along the accordian fold lines.

    • lazystitcher August 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      Wow – I wonder why it’s so sparse. It’s just so useful. When I tried to track one down online I found this one for US$10.20 but they don’t ship to New Zealand. As it turns out, that is the one that I now own ere in the UK! If you’re still looking for one, that could be a goer.
      🙂

  5. Hatty August 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    You know, I lived just off Upper Street for twenty years, and there was one fabric shop just next to the bottomof Cross St, near the greengrocer. Otherwise, I just used to go up to Seven Sisters, or into the West End to John Lewis to buy fabric and notions. I emigrated five years ago (to a land full of tailors and textiles, fnaargh, fnaaargh), and whaddayaknow, loads more sewing stuff springs up in the homeland! What’s up with that?

Leave a Reply

