Cuffed Shorts Muslin

18 Aug

Oh boy, I’ve got to say whilst I understand the importance of muslining certain garments, the tedium of getting these damn shorts to fit is driving me mad.

It all started with these gorgeous Rachel Comey raw silk shorts.

Classy, no?

 

So I went on the pattern hunt and found these lovely shorts made by burdastyle member artyfarty.

 

They’re made using Burda Magazine 06/2010-115 which was also available for download.

The pattern only goes to a size 44 so I graded it up a whopping 10 inches or so using the guidelines here.

Then came the muslins.

Too tight across the bum and hips. Using Suni’s post on trouser fitting I made a full thigh adjustment to get more room in the seat.

Better in the seat but still pulling at the hips.

It felt the same in the lower hip at the front so I added 3/8 inch to each side seam.

The back looks okay, I think but the front has a bit of a puffy uterus look going on.

So I fiddled around trying to work with the fabric and ended up taking 3/4 inch wedge off the front. It’s hard to explain but I pined the waistband to my top so it didn’t move, then tugged the pant front up a bit and pinned it back to the waist band. Like a front version of a sway back adjustment.

So here is the fourth incarnation with the length shortened a bit. It’s not 100% – I think I need to move the pleat a bit, but right now I think a rest and a G&T is well in order!

 

8 Responses to “Cuffed Shorts Muslin”

  1. Suzie August 18, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    Oh my goodness, thats a lot of work you’ve put into those shorts – well done for being so patient (I would have got fed up after the second muslin!) and I bet it will all be worth it in the end!

    And you’ve put me in the mood for a G&T now!

    • lazystitcher August 18, 2011 at 3:01 am #

      Hear, hear! G&Ts all round I say! 🙂

  2. Stevie August 18, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Girl! You did an excellent job! My Bombshell dress muslin is driving me insane and i’m only on my second! Your going to have the best pair of shorts ever!!! I need to get my ass into gear and make some bottoms for autumn. I’m thinking needlecord shorts with tights?
    Grading up is a pain too. You have the patience of a saint and that GnT is well deserved!

    • lazystitcher August 18, 2011 at 3:00 am #

      Thanks, hun! Secretly I’m hoping that if I get these right I can make them into winter pants too although cord shorts with tights sound mighty sharp! I’m in desperate need of more bottoms as I only bought 1 pair of jeans, 1 skirt and some leggings with me. Infact, I need to go to the supermarket right now but I can’t until my jeans finish in the dryer!

  3. Sølvi August 18, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    Cheers! Hang in there, I know that they will look amazing once you´re done with the fitting! 🙂

  4. lsaspacey August 18, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Wow, I’m making a pair of shorts also inspired by that SAME pair of Rachel Comey shorts! I’m putting caution to the wind though and not making a muslin. Wish me luck!

    • lazystitcher August 18, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      I wish you much luck, my friend! May the ride be smoother for you 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Palette Cleanser: Stripe Knit Sorbetto « Lazy Stitching - August 18, 2011

    […] all the muslining fun yesterday I felt the desperate need to complete something, anything, from start to finish. So out […]

Leave a Reply

